September 2nd, 2014

Top Off Tuesday : Light My Fire by G.A Aiken

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

Summary:

“Laugh-out-loud funny–I loved it!” –New York Times bestselling author Thea Harrison

The trouble with humans is that they’re far too sensitive. Forget you put a woman in the local jail for a few months–and she takes it so personally! And yet she is the one trying to assassinate the queen. And now I’m trapped with Elina Shestakova of the Black Bear Riders of the Midnight…gods! That endless name!

But what am I to do? I am Celyn the Charming with direct orders from my queen to protect this unforgiving female.

Even more shocking, this unforgiving female is completely unimpressed by me. How is that even possible? But I know what I want and, for the moment, I want her. And I’m sure that she, like all females, will learn to adore me. How could she not when I am just so damn charming?

Praise for The Dragon Who Loved Me

“A chest thumping, mead-hall rocking, enemy slaying brawl of a good book.” –All Things Urban Fantasy

“Aiken aces another one.” –RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars



 



September 1st, 2014

Must Have Monday : Peyton 313 by Donna McDonald

Must Have Monday

Peyton313

Sci-Fi/Cyborg

Book #1 of the Cyborgs: Mankind Redefined Series

Releasing September 17, 2014

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook

Summary :

Worst epic fail of her scientific career? Falling for a cyborg she helped create.

Kyra Winters never meant for her cyber science discoveries to be used for evil, but that’s exactly what happened. Now returning Peyton 313’s humanity is the last chance she’ll ever have to atone. She can’t get back the lost decade, but she can change the present by restoring the cyborg who was once Marine Captain Peyton Elliot.

Certainly her grand plan for rectifying her mistakes didn’t include madly kissing the confused, passionate Marine when he begged her to. The same scientific mind that constructed the cyborg creator code now warned her not to let Peyton’s tempting offers of heaven cloud her rational decision making. Yet it’s difficult to resist the cyborg she’s restoring when he’s also the most intriguing man she’s ever known.

ddraboutheauthor

donnamcdonald-300x234.jpg.pagespeed.ce.npbPe3zJh1
Donna McDonald is an Amazon best selling author in Contemporary Romance and Humor, and lately has been climbing the Paranormal Romance lists as well.

Paranormal reviewers are calling McDonald “a literary alchemist effortlessly blending science fiction and romance”. Contemporary and humor reviewers often write to tell her that the books keep them up reading and laughing all night. She likes both compliments and hopes they stay true forever.

Her idea of success is to be sitting next to someone on a plane and find out they are laughing at something in one of her books. She sincerely hopes that will be you.



 



August 27th, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday : Priestess Dreaming by Yasmine Galenorn

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally started by Jill at Breaking the Spine , that highlights upcoming book releases everyone or at least I’m waiting on. :)

Amazon Kindle

Summary:

We’re the D’Artigo sisters: savvy half-human, half-Fae operatives for the Otherworld Intelligence Agency. My sister Delilah is a two-faced werecat and a Death Maiden. Menolly is a vampire married to a gorgeous werepuma. And me? I’m Camille, a Moon witch married to three hunky husbands, and I’m about to journey through the veils to search for a long lost legend…

With the war in Otherworld raging, the Queen of Shadow and Night summons me to her court. Aeval orders me on a quest through the mists to find an ancient ally of hers.

I am to seek out The Merlin and wake him from his long sleep.

Surrounded by danger on all sides, with Morgaine and Bran along for the journey, I must pray they are allies rather than enemies, as we undertake a perilous search through the labyrinth of time…



 



August 25th, 2014

Must Have Monday : Rescued by Felice Stevens

Must Have Monday

Rescued

Amazon KindleBarnes and Noble Nook

Summary :

Ryder Daniels has spent the last year recovering from rejection. His parents rejected him because of his sexuality and his lover decided drugs were more important than his love. The only bright light in his life is his younger brother and his rescued pit bull, But now his mother’s punishment for the lifestyle she doesn’t approve of has cut him off from his brother he loves so desperately. Devastated, he throws himself into the work of the Pit Bull Foundation he and his friends started.

Jason Mallory can no longer hide the dissatisfaction of his relationship with his longtime girlfriend. Her ultimatum to get married pushes him to break off their relationship and he’s determined not to jump into the dating scene. When a group of injured pit bulls are found on his construction site, he calls the neighborhood rescue for help.

After adopting one of the dogs, Jason finds he can’t forget Ryder, and the two become fast friends. Then one night, Ryder lets down his guard and Jason recognizes his desire. After Jason devises a plan to bring Ryder and his brother together, they can no longer deny the passion between them. Will family differences and ugly prejudices keep them apart, or can they fight to prove that love is precious, no matter the gender?

excerptbrc

The pulse of the music pounded into Ryder’s brain. Why he allowed Connor and Emily to drag him here, he couldn’t say. They meant well, but he had no desire to chat up some random guy to have hurried sex in a bathroom stall or a dark hallway.

“Come on, let’s get some drinks. This place looks like it could be fun.” Connor pushed him toward the large glittering bar, waving at the shirtless bartender to get his attention. “Two beers, my man, with lime, and one Sea Breeze.” He grinned, and Ryder saw the bartender wink and smile at his friend.

“Another conquest, Con.” Poor guy would be sad to know Connor was here with his wife. And not into threesomes. Ryder accepted the mixed drink from his friend and passed it to Emily. She stood, facing the dance floor, enthralled by the men dancing, the light show, or both. “Em, here, take your drink.”

“Thanks.” Her hand reached out, but her gaze remained fixed on two men out on the floor. Their bodies were sinuously entwined, arms and lips pressed together. To Ryder, they looked hot, wild, and sexy as fuck.

“They are so free and beautiful, aren’t they?” He had to bend down to hear her. “I can’t see how anyone could think this is wrong.”

A tight little grin thinned his lips. “Well, obviously my parents do, since they have no desire to ever see me again unless I become ‘normal’ in their eyes.” He gulped half his beer, licking his lips afterward.

Connor draped an arm over his shoulder. “Screw ’em, I say. You’re doing nothing wrong. Live your life and find some happiness. We’ll always be here for you. You know that, right?” His friend’s arm tightened around his shoulder as Ryder nodded.

“They’ll come around one day, Ryder. You have to believe that. In the meantime, find someone to share your dreams with.” Ryder watched his friend’s gaze flicker over to Emily, who returned his look with her sweet smile. “It’s no good to be alone, man. It sucks the soul out of you.” Connor took his wife’s empty glass and placed it on a mirrored shelf next to where they were standing. “Now I’m going to dance with my wife, and I want you to find someone to dance with.” He took Emily’s hand and pulled her onto the floor.

Ryder chuckled and took another swallow of his beer. When he finished, he looked to put his bottle down, but instead caught the eye of a man who stood watching him. He recognized that look. It was one of heat, desire, and the need to get down and dirty as fast as possible. His groin responded, but he ignored it and instead returned to the bar to get another beer.

It took a while to make his way to the front of the bar and catch the bartender’s attention to order a drink. A large palm pressed against the small of his back. “Why did you turn away from me?” The voice murmured in his ear, sending tingles up his spine while a hard body pressed him into the wooden railing of the bar. An impressive erection nestled into the crease of his ass. He could feel the heat pouring off the man’s body.

Ryder froze. He took his change from the bartender, then spoke. “You need to take your hands off me.”

“Come on, I only wanted to talk and maybe get to know you better.” The man moved closer, rubbing himself against Ryder’s ass. In another minute the guy would be humping him in public.

That did it. Snarling, Ryder whipped around to face him. “I said back the fuck up, man.”

The stranger was extremely handsome. European, Ryder surmised, with a pale complexion, dark hair and eyes, and a full, sexy mouth that hinted at all things wicked. His six-foot-plus frame was clothed in an expensive suit, which did little to hide his broad shoulders and narrow waist. The thin shirt he wore pulled against the muscles of his chest, and Ryder could see the hard nipples poking through the silky fabric. Heat blazed in his glittering black eyes.

“I noticed you as soon as you walked in, so beautiful with your golden hair and skin and those bright blue eyes like a summer sky.” He licked his lips, drawing Ryder’s attention once more to their fullness. “I like your mouth too. I watched you drink your beer and wished your lips were wrapped around my cock instead of that bottle. Imagine, a grown man being jealous of a bottle.”

Ryder sucked in his breath. He’d never been so blatantly seduced. In his mind he pictured this man stripped bare, pale body, glowing damp with perspiration, draped over Ryder’s own naked flesh. If he wanted, he knew he could take him, lead him to the back, and have him on his knees within minutes. Ryder imagined sliding his zipper down, pulling out his dick, and stuffing the man’s sexy, full mouth.

Sex with a stranger, in a club. How predictable and fucking depressing.

Finishing his second beer, he reined in his temper. “I don’t like people touching me unless I give them permission first.” He leaned closer, catching a whiff of the man’s cologne, mixed with the faint aroma of tequila and sweat. “And I didn’t give you”–Ryder touched the man’s nose with his fingertip–“permission to touch me.”

A groan burst forward from the man’s mouth as he closed his eyes. Ryder took the opportunity to escape and join his friends on the dance floor. Emily slipped her arm around his waist. “What was that all about, sweetie? He looked hot and totally into you.”

Ryder shrugged and swayed his body to the music as he danced with his friends. “Nothing and nobody. Someone looking for a fuck buddy for the night.” The music changed, and he made a face. “I hate this song. Come on, let’s get another drink.” He grabbed her hand, pushing his way off the dance floor, Connor trailing behind them, grumbling about rude friends.

“I’ve got this round, Connor. What’ll it be?” It was so tight by the bar they overlapped shoulders. Connor, touchy-feely bastard that he was, clasped the back of Ryder’s neck, resting his hand there.

“Get me another beer and Em another Sea Breeze.”

He’d given the bartender his order when he came face-to-face with the man he’d left before. Only this time the sexy mouth was sneering, and his handsome face twisted in an ugly grimace.

“So you let this pretty boy touch you, but you disappear on me?” His anger had Ryder taking a step back, forcing Connor to grasp him around the neck. The man’s eyes flashed. “He came with a woman. I saw. You like it three way, maybe? I can arrange for that.” He stepped in closer, and Ryder knew he had to get out of there.

“I’m out.” He spoke over his shoulder to Connor. “See you tomorrow.” Ryder pushed past the man and hustled out of the club. The cold wind bit through his shirt. Shit, he forgot his jacket inside. He texted Connor to get it from the coat check and take it with him when he left. There was no way in hell he was going back in there. Hailing a cab was simple, and within minutes he was hurtling down Broadway back home. Another disaster. Letting his head fall back on the headrest, he closed his eyes, and as always when he was alone and depressed, his thoughts turned to his former lover, Matt.

Was the man even alive, or had the path he’d chosen–drugs over his love–sent him to an early grave? What a waste of life. Matt had been so vibrant and healthy when they’d first met at the gym. But his easygoing, California-surfer-dude mentality hid a dark side. Drugs had always been prevalent in the music industry, but Matt wasn’t into weed. He was into the hard stuff–heroin. Ryder begged him to get help, to go to rehab, but his boyfriend insisted he didn’t have a problem. Working for an Internet radio station gave him easy access to all the drugs he could ever want.

The last ugly episode, when Ryder came home to find Matt passed out with a needle on the floor, would remain forever scalded in his brain. Never in his life had he been so scared as he was at that moment.

“Matt, Matt.” His earsplitting screams had no effect on his unconscious lover. Waiting for the ambulance to arrive, Ryder thought he’d go mad. He tried slapping Matt, pushing him, anything to rouse him out of his stupor. But Matt remained unmoving.

Three days later in the hospital, still looking like shit, Matt tried to joke it off. “Come on, dude, it wasn’t so bad. I promise I’ll cut back.” He grinned that wide-open smile that before had always melted Ryder’s heart.

Not this time.

“I can’t do it anymore. You have to make the choice.”

Matt’s grin faded. “I don’t know, man. It makes me feel good. And life is about feeling good, you know?”

No, Ryder didn’t know. “I’m sorry, but no. I don’t want any part of it.” He stared at the man he thought he loved. Did he even exist anymore, or had the drugs leeched into him too deep to let go? Was he wrong, forcing him to choose? “Aren’t I enough to make you feel good?”

“If you loved me, you wouldn’t make me choose.” Matt’s face tightened in anger, and his brown eyes darkened. “But it’s no problem, dude. I’ll pick up my stuff and head over to Troy’s. He’s cool with me.”

Pain sliced through Ryder’s chest. He gasped. “Have you been sleeping with him?” Though they always practiced safe sex, he didn’t want to know his lover had cheated on him.

A sigh of relief escaped him when Matt shook his head. “Nah, man. Troy’s not gay. We’re friends.” His face softened. “I’m sorry, Ry. We had fun, though, right?”

Fun. That was all their year together meant to the man? Matt didn’t love him, never had. Ryder turned on his heel and left Matt’s room and the hospital.

He never saw Matt again.

The gruff voice of the cabbie interrupted his thoughts. “Hey, buddy. We’re here.”

Swiping his credit card, he tipped the driver, then took his receipt. He scrambled out of the cab, anxious to get inside and out of the cold night air. By the time he made it to the entrance, he was shivering. Clarence, the doorman, pulled open the door.

“Mr. Daniels, where is your coat? It’s freezing tonight, sir.”

Ryder chuckled. “Clarence, you’re like a mother hen. Connor has it, and I’ll pick it up tomorrow. I trust you had a nice holiday?” He pulled his keys out of his pocket.

The elderly, gray-haired doorman smiled. “Yes, all the grandchildren were there, and they kept my lap busy. I trust you had a nice holiday, sir?”

Ryder nodded and knew his strained smile didn’t fool the man. “Well, good night, Clarence.”

“Shane wanted me to tell you he walked Pearl and fed her tonight. He even stayed and played with her a bit. Good night, sir.”

“When you see him, tell him how much I appreciate it, please.” Ryder took the elevator to the sixteenth floor and was greeted by a whining Pearl. She hated being left alone. Ryder gave her some treats, drank two glasses of water, and after shedding his clothes, fell into bed. Within moments he was asleep, his arm around his dog.

* * * *

At eleven o’clock on Monday morning, Ryder sat, manning the phones at Rescue Me, when an emergency call came in.

“Tell me the address, please.” He jotted down an address in Red Hook, Brooklyn–an area well-known to harbor dogfighting rings. “Okay, we’ll be there within half an hour at the latest. Don’t touch the dogs, and give them plenty of space.” He hung up the phone. Emily was readying herself for the trip. She took out muzzles, large blankets, and some food and bowls.

“I’m ready, Ry. You’ll fill me in on the way there.” She, along with Laurel and Hardy, jumped in their van. Crates were clipped to brackets on the floor. Ryder slammed the door shut, and they started out for the drive to the construction site, where it seemed the foreman had come upon some pit bulls he didn’t know how to handle. Afraid of getting bitten, he called the rescue.

Not twenty minutes later, they were bouncing along the cobblestone and broken-up streets of one of Brooklyn’s strangest areas. On one block were some of the toughest housing projects in the city, and on the next were gentrified townhomes, IKEA, and expensive, charming restaurants. They pulled into a double-wide parking area, their van squeezing by a truck with Malloy Bros. Construction emblazoned on the side.

From the passenger seat, he could see a crowd of men standing around, some in hard hats, along with curious onlookers. One man in shirtsleeves, tall and beefy with curly brown hair, stood off to the side talking into a phone. It was the other man who caught Ryder’s attention.

He was tall, a few inches over six feet. His dark hair fell in loose waves that brushed the top of his collar and curled at the bottom of his neck. He was built strongly, and Ryder could see the muscles bulging through his button-down shirt. As cool as it had been on Thanksgiving, the temperature had risen to an almost balmy fifty degrees today. His shirtsleeves were rolled up to his elbows, showcasing his powerful arms.

“Wow, that is one cute guy.” Emily nudged him. “I see you staring at him. Make sure you go over and speak to him.”

Ryder scowled at her. “I’m here to work, not make a date.”

Emily squeezed his thigh and poked him. “Maybe you can do both.” She winked and gave him her saucy smile.

He kissed her cheek. “Now I see why you and Connor are perfect together. You’re both annoying.”

Her eyes sparkled as she kissed him back. “You love it. Come on, let’s go.” She opened the van’s door and hopped out.

When Ryder looked out the van’s window, he locked eyes with the dark-haired man’s intense stare. He licked his lips, inexplicably nervous.

What the hell is that about?

All thoughts fled as he saw a group of men approach the row of houses and start up the stairs. They had bats in their hands, and one held a chain. In a flash he jumped down from the van and raced toward the group of men.

“What the fuck do you think you’re doing?”

Copyright © Felice Stevens

 

 

ddraboutheauthor

 

 

Felice Stevens has always been a romantic at heart. She believes that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending just around the corner. She started reading traditional historical romances when she was a teenager, then life and law school got in the way. It wasn’t until she picked up a copy of Bertrice Small and became swept away to Queen Elizabeth’s court that her interest in romance novels became renewed.

But somewhere along the way, her tastes shifted. While she still enjoys a juicy Historical romance, she began experimenting with newer, more cutting edge genres and discovered the world of Male/Male romance. And once she picked up her first, she became so enamored of the authors, the character-driven stories and the overwhelming emotion of the books, she knew she wanted to write her own.

Felice lives in New York City with her husband and two children and hopefully soon a cat of her own. Her day begins with a lot of caffeine and ends with a glass or two of red wine. She practices law but daydreams of a time when she can sit by a beach somewhere and write beautiful stories of men falling in love. Although there is bound to be angst along the way, a Happily Ever After is always guaranteed.



 



May 21st, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday : Blood Games by Chloe Neill

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally started by Jill at Breaking the Spine , that highlights upcoming book releases everyone or at least I’m waiting on. :)

Amazon Kindle

Coming August 5, 2014

Summary:

“IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A VAMPIRIC ROLE MODEL, YOU COULDN’T DO ANY BETTER THAN MERIT….CHICAGO IS LUCKY TO HAVE HER.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

While Merit didn’t choose to become a vampire or Sentinel of Cadogan House, she vowed to fight for her House and its Master, and she’s managed to forge strong alliances with powerful supernaturals across Chicago. But even though Merit has had wild adventures, this may be her deadliest yet….

A killer is stalking Chicago, preying on humans and leaving his victims with magical souvenirs. The CPD hasn’t been able to track the assailant, and as the body count rises, the city is running out of options. Vampires and humans aren’t on great terms, but murder makes for strange bedfellows. Can Merit find the killer before she becomes a target?



 



May 20th, 2014

Top Off Tuesday : Taking the Reins by Kat Murray

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

Summary:

Peyton Muldoon needs a man bad.

No, not that way. What she needs is a trainer for her struggling stud ranch. And only a true life horse whisperer will do, a man with the right touch and real know how.

Redford Callahan’s on a hot streak.

Not in the sack. But with the ranch owners who hire him to gentle their animals without breaking their spirit. He can pick and choose his next gig, so he’ll be damned if he’s going to waste his time on a mismanaged operation like the M-Star. Not until Peyton sashays into his motel room one night to make him a deal he can’t refuse. Now Red’s days as a loner are numbered and he’s starting to wonder if there’s one spitfire he won’t be able to tame. . .

“Sassy and sexy. . .a welcome new voice!” –USA Today bestselling author Donna Kauffman



 



May 19th, 2014

Must Have Monday : SEALs Of Summer: Military Romance Superbundle – Navy SEAL Style

Must Have Monday

Seals

Amazon Kindle

Summary :

Military Super-bundle of TEN novels and novellas by 10 NYT and USA Today bestselling authors.

* New York Times Bestseller *
* USA Today Bestseller *
* AMAZON Top 25 Bestseller *
* AMAZON #1 Bestseller in Romance – Military *
* AMAZON #1 Bestseller in Romance – Mystery & Suspense – Suspense *

IT TAKES A SEAL, An Adventure Girls, Inc. story by USA Today Bestselling author Delilah Devlin: A travel agent visiting friends in the Bahamas is stranded on a desert island with a sexy ex-SEAL after their private pleasure cruise is interrupted by men who mistake her lover for a reclusive billionaire.

SEAL OF MY HEART by New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Sharon Hamilton: Kate Livingstone’s engagement is at risk the instant she sets eyes on the handsome elite warrior sitting next to her on a plane trip to visit her sister. Navy SEAL Tyler Gray had thought he knew what he wanted in life, until he meets Kate and their obvious attraction for each other sparks something deep in his soul. What starts out as innocent letters between friends turns out to be much more. Can someone fall in love deeply just with words and letters exchanged, or is this just a pleasant fantasy that will ruin their lives forever?

SMOKING HOT by National Bestselling Author Anne Marsh: When an ambush kills his teammate, Navy SEAL Tye Callahan vows to spend the summer in Strong, California, fighting fires with the smoke jumper team and looking out for Katie Lawson, his teammate’s fiancée. Now, as the summer heats up, they must decide if the chemistry burning between them might just be their second chance at living their own lives… together.

THE NAVY SEAL’s E-MAIL ORDER BRIDE by National Bestselling author Cora Seton: If Mason Hall, Navy SEAL, can’t find a wife and get her pregnant–and convince his three brothers to marry, too–before the year is up, he’ll have to forfeit the ranch his family has prized for over a hundred years. Who knew one city girl and three wayward brothers could put up such a fight?

FALL OUT by National Bestselling Author Zoe York: Drew Castle is a Navy SEAL with a bad case of indifference. Until Annie Martin shows up on his doorstep, scared out of her mind, and all of a sudden, keeping her safe becomes the most important mission of his life. And this time, he’s on his own.

CLOSE QUARTERS by New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Roxie Rivera: Getting tangled up in Jamie Pearson’s latest hot mess–or her sheets–is the very last thing Navy SEAL Leland Gates needs, but in close quarters like these, there’s no denying the white-hot passion blazing between them.

KILLING HONOR by International Bestselling author S.M. Butler: Returning home after a disastrous extended deployment, Navy SEAL Brody Battles struggles with nightmares and government secrets building a wall between him and his wife, Devyn, especially when a security breach compromises his identity. While they’re adjusting to being a family again, an old enemy waits in the shadows, salivating for the sweet taste of revenge.

COMING IN HOT by Award-winning author Kimberley Troutte: For Navy SEAL Mack Riley, rescuing a family in Colombian jungles isn’t as hard as seeing the admiral’s daughter again, but since Jenna is joining the hostage rescue team, his orders are to protect her. In the heat of battle, love breaches their defenses just as missiles lock onto their coordinates …can they save the family and get out alive?

A SEAL’s SONG by Golden Heart Finalist author Jennifer Lowery: Navy SEAL Jack Taggart’s plans to catch some much-needed downtime between deployments are demolished when he risks everything to rescue beautiful wedding singer, Darci O’Shea, from a band of thieves. Will the battle between their inner demons be the hardest one to fight, or will they find rescue in each other’s arms?

SEALS’s EMBRACE by USA Today Bestselling author Elle James: Injured Navy SEAL and the critical care nurse he’s attempting to woo join forces to stop a terrorist attack.



 



May 15th, 2014

Guest Post & Giveaway: Master’s Flame by Annabel Joseph

Masters Flame 900x1350

Amazon Kindle  Barnes and Noble Nook    All Romance Ebooks

Add to Goodreads

In the sexually charged world of Cirque du Monde, CEO Michel Lemaitre reigns as king of depravity. He’s a stringent, brutal Master who selects his slaves based on their ability to cope with strict handling and pain. He exerts rigid control over his chosen partners and they submit to him in all things—that is, until fiery Italian acrobat Valentina Sancia enters his life.

Valentina’s known as La Vampa, the flame of Napoli, and her tempestuous personality and wild libido soar as high as her circus tricks. To his chagrin, she wants nothing more than to be his slave. Michel finds himself drawn to the red-headed firebrand even as he tries his hardest to resist her. It doesn’t help that the sensual beauty idolizes him and tempts him at every turn. He finally engages her in a one-month, no-holds-barred Master-slave relationship to prove their incompatibility.

And that’s when the circus really begins.

The two become wrapped up in bondage, cages, physical ordeals…and an emotionally fraught battle of wills. He’s never had a slave burn so bright, and Valentina’s heart is set on pleasing her Master, no matter the torment and trials she must endure. Is there such a thing as too much passion? Michel’s convinced there is, and he’s determined to tame a billowing love on the verge of blazing out of control.

 
ddrguestpostbutton

Annabel Joseph is at Dark Diva Reviews today to tell us about her new BDSM romance, Master’s Flame, and also to share some…ahem…inspiring examples of real life circus artistry. Prepare your eyeballs for some artistic brain candy, and be sure to check out the Master’s Flame excerpt below!

Hello readers! If you’ve been keeping up with my Cirque Masters series, then you know I draw a lot of erotic inspiration from Cirque performers and other talented folks. The entire series was inspired by an aerial silk act I saw that incorporated some very bondage-oriented sequences. Ooh-la-la. I thought I’d share four of my other favorite sexy and sensual circus acts:

The Amaluna Water Bowl – Amaluna is a Cirque du Soleil show centered on female goddesses and the mystery of the moon. In the water bowl act, Miranda cavorts with the handsome (and buff) Romeo while doing all kinds of amazing stuff with her body and splashing in an oversized fish bowl. Search on Youtube for Amaluna Water Bowl and you can see this beautiful act for yourself.

AMALUNA - CIRQUE DU SOLEIL - WATER BOWL

The Zarkana Banquine Act – Valentina, the heroine in my new release, got her start as a banquine artist. I can see her flying above everyone’s heads like the female acrobat in this photo. There are a lot of banquine acts but what I love most about the one in Cirque du Soleil’s Zarkana is the romantic, atmospheric quality of the performance. Plus, I just get off on all those strong, manly men throwing the women around.

ZARKANA.-Banquine

The Mystère Hand to Hand Act – I’m just gonna let the photo tell the story on this one. Two hot, muscular men performing feats of strength while they rub up all over each other. Very fun to watch.

Mystere hand to hand act

The Totem Lovebirds – This duo trapeze couple wears yellow bird-inspired costumes but their act definitely isn’t feather-brained. They perform daring and sensual tricks, requiring concentration and perfect timing. It doesn’t hurt that they’re beautiful to look at! You can see the Lovebirds as part of Cirque du Soleil’s touring TOTEM show.

121025_cirquedusoleil_dressrehearsal

I hope I’ve been able to show you how sexy circus can be. Here’s an excerpt from my new release Master’s Flame, a BDSM romance set in the fictional world of Cirque du Monde.

ddrexcerptbutton

“Make love to me. Just once,” she begged. “Touch me just once so I can know the feeling of your…your magic.”

“My magic?” He shook his head. “Jason’s right. You don’t live in the real world.” He stood and paced away from her.

“Mr. Lemaitre, I would do anything to have you.”

He turned back, holding up a finger. “Don’t. Don’t say you would do anything, especially to someone like me, because I’ll take you up on that offer and you won’t like it.”

“I would like it. I’d do anything for you. Anything, anything, anything.” She yelled the word at him, her heart pounding. “You know how I feel, I know you do. I only have this one life and I want to experience everything I desire.”

“Everything you desire?” The question was a warning, one she didn’t heed.

“Yes, and you are keeping me from doing it.”

“And you need this to be fulfilled in life? You need to be mine? To be taken by me, used by me? Possessed by me, as you so dramatically put it?”

“Yes,” she cried. “That’s what I need.”

He crossed his arms over his chest. “What will you offer in return? What will I get out of this possession, besides a recurrent headache?”

Valentina’s face flushed red, because she hadn’t once, not once, considered his side of things.

“Ah, but you see, my dear, that’s the rub,” he said quietly. “I’m not a service top. I take slaves for my pleasure, not theirs. I have less than no interest in your needs, Valentina, except as they intersect with what I desire.”

She swallowed hard. “Well…what do you desire?”

His piercing gaze transformed from something reproachful to something more speculative. It scared her a little, the assessment in his expression.

“I think you’re a selfish hedonist who wants what she wants,” he said. “That’s not slavery, you know. It isn’t even power exchange. It’s topping from the bottom and I don’t tolerate it in those I ‘possess.’”

Valentina tried not to be distracted by the growing tent in his robe. “You…you would have to teach me to be better. I need control.”

You would have to. I need. You’re still not listening, Valentina,” he said, coming back to the bed. “The only one having their needs met in a relationship between us would be me.”

There had to be some flaw in his thinking, because she was sure he would meet her needs. His mastery would fulfill her as no one ever had. “What can I give you?” she asked. “How can I prove that I’ll do anything for you?”

“There you go with the ‘I’ll do anything’ again.”

“Mr. Lemaitre, please! What can I offer that would satisfy your desires? What would make it worthwhile for you?”

Again, that slow, almost threatening gaze of consideration. His eyes traveled over her, his lips drawn into a contemplative line. “You’ll do anything?”

“Anything, I swear. There’s nothing you could ask for that I wouldn’t gladly do.”

The air seemed to grow heavy between them. She knew she was being impulsive again, but she didn’t care. Everything she’d said was true. After a moment, he made a small motion of annoyance. His expression hardened to something like stone.

“If that’s how you feel,” he said, “then I want a no-limits arrangement. Complete and utter ownership, no holds barred. No negotiation, no contracts, no release clauses. Your body is mine for one month, for whatever I desire.”

Whatever I desire. The idea excited her so much she could barely breathe, but she forced herself to stop, to clarify his terms. “So I would have no rights in this relationship?”

“None.”

“You could do whatever you wanted to me, and I couldn’t stop you? What if you decided you wanted to kill me?”

“Then I get to kill you. Honestly, the way you perturb me, I would put the odds of a murder at 2 to 1.”

She decided he was kidding, although he didn’t have the slightest hint of humor in his demeanor. “Do you really want that?” she asked. “You really want…me…for a month? Does that mean…” She could barely say the words. “Does that mean I would become your slave?”

Some wary expression flitted across his face. His voice was light, almost a whisper, when he answered. “You have been my slave for some time now, haven’t you? You might think on whether it’s what you really want.”

ddrabouttheauthorbutton

annabeljosephpicSQUARE

Annabel Joseph is a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling BDSM romance author. She writes mainly contemporary romance, although she has been known to dabble in the medieval and Regency eras. She is recognized for writing emotionally intense BDSM storylines, and strives to create characters that seem real–even flawed–so readers are better able to relate to them.

Annabel publishes with Ellora’s Cave and Loose Id in addition to her own imprint, Scarlet Rose Press. She also writes non-BDSM erotic romance under the name Molly Joseph.

Some of Annabel’s favorite authors are Laura Kinsale, Judith McNaught, Jo Beverley, Flannery O’Connor, Molly Weatherfield, and Anneke Jacob.

You can email Annabel at [email protected] She loves to hear from her readers.

She is always working on something new, so stay tuned!

Connect with Annabel at:

Annabel’s Website

Annabel Joseph’s Naughty Brigade

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Instagram

Goodreads

 

ddrcurrentgiveawaybutton

a Rafflecopter giveaway



 



May 13th, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday : Reborn by C.C Hunter

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally started by Jill at Breaking the Spine , that highlights upcoming book releases everyone or at least I’m waiting on. :)

Amazon Kindle

Summary:

Enter Shadow Falls: After Dark and meet a vampire named Della, who’s about to discover what her own story is meant to be. . . .Della had the perfect life—the family, a boyfriend, and a bright future—until she was turned, and abandoned by everyone she loves. She takes refuge at Shadow Falls, a camp for teens with paranormal powers.

It’s where she and her best friends, Kylie and Miranda, heal their heartbreak with laughter, and where Della is training to be a paranormal investigator—and she refuses to be distracted. That means there’s no time for romance with Steve, a gorgeous shapeshifter whose kisses melt her heart.  

When a new vampire named Chase shows up at camp, Della’s world is thrown into even more chaos. Arrogant and annoyingly sexy, Chase is a mystery . . . and the only mystery Della likes is one she can solve. She can’t solve Chase, at least not while she’s dealing with ghostly hauntings, vampire gangs and a web of family secrets. Can she prove herself as an investigator and keep her life—and her heart—intact?



 



May 12th, 2014

Top Off Tuesday : Nothing Special by A.E. Via

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

Summary:

Cashel Godfrey is big, tattooed, and angry, so people typically keep their distance. Fresh out of the police academy no one is looking to partner with the six foot four beast. When Cashel scanned the orientation room, he wasn’t expecting sexy hazel eyes to be locked onto him. Eyes of the gorgeous Leonidis Day.

Leonidis is charming, witty, hilariously sarcastic, and the only one that can make Cashel smile. He’s an out and badass detective, but when Cashel saves his life in a raid that turns deadly, he sees something in the big man that no one else does…something special.

Warning: Two sexy narcotics detectives. One with a serious hot spot for big gun-toting men, the other that yields a cannon; so be ready for the obscene sexual bang when these two come together.



 



May 11th, 2014

Must Have Monday : Because You’re You by Lee Brazil

Must Have Monday

Because You're You

Amazon Kindle

Summary :

Early 2011, it all began with a letter and a picture in the Goodreads M/M Romance Group.

Dear Author,
My marriage ended badly but I have no regrets as I now have a wonderful son. I wonder what’s next for me, though, and if I’ll ever find true love?
Sincerely,
A Reader

And from those two sentences a story was born.

This is that story.

Devyn Strake’s tattoos and piercings are sexy as hell, but what really attracts Sully Moore’s attention is his new neighbor’s tender care of his infant son.

Devyn shouldn’t let his attraction for his handsome neighbor distract him. He’s in trouble, and he has to make baby Kail his chief priority.

How does a good cop find love with a bad boy in trouble?

*Please note: This second edition has been edited and revised. The basic plot and events remain the same.



 



May 10th, 2014

Sandra Brown Blog Tour & Giveaway

Sandra Brown Banner

Love’s Encore

Brown_Love'sEncore_Ebook

In one reckless night, Camille Jameson’s life was changed forever: a tall, handsome stranger, an evening of romance — and enough regrets to last a lifetime. Two years later, Camille is a successful interior decorator with the opportunity to restore one of Mississippi’s proudest plantations. She arrives excited and eager to face her greatest professional challenge to date — until Zack Prescott saunters through the mansion’s front door and back into her life. He is exactly as she remembers, except for the knowing look in his eyes that reminds her of what they once shared. Now, forced to live in unbearably close quarters, Camille and Zack will discover if they have the courage to face the past — and, perhaps, build a future together . . .

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

Eloquent Silence

Brown_EloquentSilence_Ebook

Lauri is a dedicated young teacher for the deaf. Her past conceals a wound still unhealed, her present is a facade, and she uses her career to hide her loneliness. Drake, daytime TV’s most popular star, has two secrets — the daughter he believes may never have a normal life and the dead wife he can’t forget. Jennifer is the beautiful hearing-impaired child who may become a pawn between the man and the woman she needs most. Now, in a chic New Mexico arts community, the three are given a chance to be a family…but first each must find a voice to express the deepest fears and greatest needs of the heart.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

brcabouttheauthor

1403_SandraBrown_050-B-Sm

Sandra Brown is the author of more than sixty New York Times bestsellers, including DEADLINE (2013), LOW PRESSURE (2012), LETHAL (2011), TOUGH CUSTOMER (2010), SMASH CUT (2009), SMOKE SCREEN (2008), PLAY DIRTY (2007), RICOCHET (2006), and CHILL FACTOR, all of which have jumped onto the Times bestseller list in the number one to five spot.

Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy novels, bringing the number of copies of her books in print worldwide to upwards of eighty million. Her work has been translated into thirty-four languages.

Brown holds an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Texas Christian University. She served as the president of the Mystery Writers of American in 2012 and was named ITW’s Thriller Master for 2008, the top award given by the International Thriller Writer’s Association. Other awards and commendations include the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature and the Romance Writers of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Places to find Sandra Brown:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

Current Giveaways Button

a Rafflecopter giveaway



 



May 5th, 2014

Must Have Monday : Darkness Of Light by Stacey Marie Brown

Must Have Monday

Darkness Of Light

Amazon Kindle

Summary :

New Adult/Mature YA: sexual content, language, alcohol, violence, death, and other mature content intended for readers 17 and older.

Freak. Witch. Crazy. Schizo.

Ember Brycin has been called them all. She’s always known she’s different. No one has ever called her normal, even under the best circumstances. Bizarre and inexplicable things continually happen to her, and having two different colored eyes, strange hair, and an unusual tattoo only contributes to the gossip about her.

When the latest school explosion lands her in a facility for trouble teens, she meets Eli Dragen, who’s hot as hell and darkly mysterious. Their connection is full of passion, danger, and secrets. Secrets that will not only change her life, but what and who she is—leading her down a path she never imagined possible.

Between Light and Dark, Ember finds a world where truth and knowledge are power and no one can be trusted. But her survival depends on finding out the truth about herself. In her pursuit, she is forced between love and destiny and good and evil, even when the differences between them aren’t always clear. At worst, she will incite a war that could destroy both worlds. At best, she will not only lose her heart but her life and everyone she loves. Once the truth is out, however, there will be no going back. And she’ll definitely wish she could.



 



April 30th, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday : Stormy Persuasion by Johanna Lindsey

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, originally started by Jill at Breaking the Spine , that highlights upcoming book releases everyone or at least I’m waiting on. :)

Amazon Kindle

Pre Order Now!

Summary:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey returns to the dazzlingly passionate world of the Malorys, an aristocratic family of rakehell adventurers and spirited ladies, in a thrilling new tale of unbridled desires.

James Malory sets sail for America to honor a promise he made to his in-laws: His and Georgina’s daughter, Jacqueline, will have her come-out in America. Judith and Jacqueline Malory are not simply cousins; they are inseparable best friends. Refusing to miss Jacqueline’s come-out in Connecticut, Judith convinces her parents to let her delay her London debut by a few weeks so she can accompany her cousin. Neither girl intends to fall in love during her first Season. But Judith’s plans are overturned when aboard ship she comes face-to-face with the ghost who has been haunting her dreams.

Unknown to the Malorys, deckhand Nathan Tremayne is a smuggler with a noose around his neck. Determined to carry out a covert mission in America that could gain him a pardon, Nathan senses that beautiful Judith Malory is trouble. Somehow the minx knows his secret—and now she’s blackmailing him into doing her bidding. While passions can soar on the high seas, Nathan knows this aristocratic beauty is merely amusing herself with a scoundrel like him.

When the unthinkable happens in Connecticut and the elder Malorys’ hands are tied, Nathan takes command of a dire situation. Captaining his own ship, he turns the tables on Judith, as he steers them into some intense Caribbean heat where he will fight with all his mettle to win the right to her heart.



 



April 29th, 2014

Top Off Tuesday : Throttle Me by Chelle Bliss

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

Summary:

Suzy’s a control freak and has her life mapped out – work hard, find a man with a stable job, and live happily ever after. She’s content with the status quo, but her plan comes to a screeching halt when he enters her life and turns it upside down.

City gave up on love when his heart was crushed in college, preferring to be the typical bachelor. He spends his nights hopping from one bed to another and his days working at his family tattoo shop, Inked. A chance encounter on a dark road makes him question what he had sworn off forever – a relationship.

A night of passion and lust causes them to question everything. Is City the knight in shining armor to the damsel in distress? Can their relationship survive when a fantasy falls apart and a secret comes out that changes everything?

This is the first book in the Men of Inked Series.

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual situations, graphic language, and material that some readers may find objectionable.



 



April 28th, 2014

Must Have Monday : Darkest Flame by Donna Grant

Must Have Monday

the darkest flame

Amazon Kindle

Summary :

Danger and passion explode in the third serial of Darkest Flame by New York Times bestselling author Donna Grant.

Bound a connection deeper than desire, Kellan and Denae will stand together as they fight for their lives. Cornered by an army of Dark Fae, they both know that they must battle to the end to save each other…for each other…in Darkest Flame: Part 3.

“Time travel, ancient legends, and seductive romance are seamlessly interwoven into one captivating package.”—Publishers Weekly on the Dark Warrior series

“Once again, Donna Grant has given the readers a great story.” —Night Owl Reviews Top Pick on MIDNIGHT’S PROMISE

Related Posts with Thumbnails