January 10th, 2015

CURSED by S.J. Harper

CURSED by S.J. Harper
Publisher: ROC
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Length: 304 pages

Amazon Kindle

Summary:

Meet FBI Agents Emma Monroe and Zack Armstrong. She’s cursed. He’s damned. Together, they make one hell of a team.

Emma Monroe is a Siren, cursed by the gods and bound to earth to atone for an ancient failure. She’s had many names and many lives, but only one mission: redemption. Now that she works missing persons cases for the FBI, it could be just a rescue away. Unless her new partner leads her astray.

Special Agent Zack Armstrong just transferred into the San Diego Field Office. He’s a werewolf, doing his best to beat back the demons from his dark and dangerous past. As a former Black Ops sniper, he’s taken enough lives. Now he’s doing penance by saving them.

Emma and Zack’s very first case draws them deep into the realm of the paranormal, and forces them to use their own supernatural abilities. But that leaves each of them vulnerable, and there are lines partners should not cross. As secrets are revealed and more women go missing, one thing becomes clear: as they race to save the victims, Emma and Zack risk losing themselves.

Shandy Jo’s Review:

I found this to be a unique take on a paranormal romance. Emma is a Siren, but not the fish tail and singing sailors to their deaths kind. She’s the cursed by Demeter to save women because of her past digression kind. Countless centuries old, she must save women until Demeter is satisfied or she will never find true love. You know that old chestnut, ok… this is a new one for me sort of, anyway. Downside for me was the twisting of the Persephone Myth to suit the story, but I sometimes focus on stupid stuff.

Emma creates this whole tough, steely exterior to keep people away. This seemed twofold, one to save herself from losing people she grew to care about and also to save men from Demeter’s wrath should she grow to care too much. While this is what she showed to most, the readers got to see how she was really very soft and vulnerable. The two sides merging now and again made a very real and likable character. Zack is his own brooding, mysterious ball of wax. I wasn’t able to get as good a fix on him since the book is all in Emma’s POV. Yet, I found myself liking the parts I was able to see.

The plot moves right along combining just the right amount of mystery, suspense, and romance to give the reader a well rounded story. The sex scenes aren’t anything to shake a stick at either. Hubba hubba.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. Good story and great characters made for a wonderful read.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Shandy Jo!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

Inside Heat by Roz Lee

Inside Heat by Roz Lee
Series: Mustangs Baseball, book #1
Publisher: Amazon Kindle
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 236 pages

Summary:

Professional baseball players Jeff and Jason Holder are at the top of their game. Jeff is the Texas Mustangs’ closer, revered throughout the Major League for throwing inside heat, while his twin brother Jason is the team’s starting catcher and star hitter. The two have always shared more than their identical DNA, so when they meet Megan Long, it’s no wonder they both want her.

Megan doesn’t know baseball, but she does know a sexy guy when she sees one – or two. Unable to resist their charms, Megan finds herself in bed with both of them, but falling in love with only one.

When a potentially career-ending injury sidelines Jeff, his ego takes a hit too. Megan finds herself on the outside – the dirty little secret. It doesn’t help that Jeff has gotten the wrong impression about her and his brother.

It will take more than a little physical therapy for Jeff to mend his arm, and his relationship with Megan.

Deb’s Review:

Inside Heat is a wonderful read that I could not put down. I found myself reading from cover to cover in one sitting. Roz Lee never disappoints.

Jeff is someone that struck high on my love/hate meter. There were times in reading this story, I wished I could have slapped him upside the head. *smiles* There is no doubt that he is the alpha male to his twin, but with a huge heart. Can Jeff go after what he truly wants before it is to late?

Megan is a compassionate, loving heroine, but when pushed she can become a real firecracker. I enjoyed watching her handle Jeff and Jason, especially when she states she is NOT their maid. (priceless) Ms. Lee mixed her impossible job as a nurse dealing with sick children with some humorous moments to lighten such a hard profession.

Jason comes off as a goof, but he has many other qualities that make him so yummy. He discovers what he really wants a bit later in the game. Sweet, sensitive and lonely can he find what he is seeking? He is the total package.

There was not much in the way of secondary characters, as the lime light stayed on Jason, Megan and Jeff.
I started out reading Bases Loaded and enjoyed discovering Roz Lee. Now I am starting from the beginning. I really liked this story, and how Ms. Lee explored the different levels of a menage relationship. I will certainly be reading the rest of this series.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

Claimed for the Master’s Pleasure by Jan Bowles

Claimed for the Master’s Pleasure by Jan Bowles
Series: Guilty Pleasures, book # 5
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand Publishing
Genre: Erotic, Contemporary Romance, BDSM
Length: 153 pages

Summary:

[Siren Everlasting Classic: Erotic BDSM Romance, spanking, knife play]

When Lia Constantine’s father dies suddenly, she’s shocked to discover he’s left casino debts totaling more than one million dollars. Unless she sells the family home, making herself homeless, she cannot repay the debt.

Under difficult circumstances, self-made billionaire Jake Benetti, owner of the Arabian Nights Casino, meets the incredibly beautiful Lia Constantine for the first time. As soon as he sees her, he knows she holds the key to unlocking his broken heart. He cannot allow this highly alluring woman to slip through his fingers. Caught between the past and the future, he makes her an offer she simply can’t refuse—until Lia repays her father’s gambling debts, he owns her, mind, body, and soul.

Lia is into the BDSM lifestyle as much as Jake is, but with their D/s relationship beginning to blossom, will the money drive a wedge between them? Can they ever find happiness together?

A Siren Erotic Romance

Debs Review:

The Guilty Pleasures series is one delicious series that can’t be missed. Jan Bowles out does herself with every addition, in that the books keep getting hotter & hotter which I thought would be impossible.

Jake is one intense, passionate Dom that had me going weak in the knees. His soft side made me sigh. Losing his wife/sub he never thought he would find a replacement, until he was collecting a debt.

Lia is a very strong submissive with a heart of gold. Her story touches deep as it unfolds. She is one of those characters that could be your best friend. Ms. Bowles lets us watch as Lia grows into herself, defeat the odds and come out a winner.

Together Jake and Lia are a force to be reckoned with. They have you feeling everything from the passion between them, to their struggles, to the things they need to overcome. Ms. Bowles is definitely no slouch in the drama building department.

The secondary characters were in short supply, but who they were added to the richness of Lia and Jake’s characters. They also caused a few smile moments.

The plot was powerful, like any great BDSM story. I felt Ms. Bowles covered the ground with knowledgeable information. Claimed for the Master’s Pleasure was everything I hoped it would be: strong character lines and hot steamy sex with a D/s plot that had a romantic feel. If you like a strong hero and a feisty hero, then Claimed for the Master’s Pleasure by Jan Bowles is a must have for your BDSM library.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

His Obsession by Sam Crescent

His Obsession by Sam Crescent
Series: The Owners, book # 2
Publisher : Evernight Publishing
Genre: BDSM, Erotic Contemporary Romance, Menage
Length: 174 pages

Amazon Kindle

Summary:

His obsession could destroy them both.

Stephen Knox is the wealthy owner of the exclusive gentleman’s club, Possession. A club where men feel the utmost possession for their women. However, he doesn’t believe in what the club represents until Ursula Mills walks into his life.

Ursula has no choice but to accept the job as a cleaner/cook for Stephen. From the moment they first met, she’s been infatuated by her older employer. He’s unlike any man she’s ever known. Everything about him pulls her in. Their passion ignites to a fever pitch neither could have expected.

But, when an old enemy returns with the intent of destroying everything that Stephen possesses, he must act quickly to protect his club.

When Ursula learns his secret, she has to make a choice. Live without him or learn to be his—completely.

Be Warned: anal play, spanking

Deb’s Review:

My first love for the Erotica genre was BDSM. Why it still remains my top favorite is because of amazing authors like Sam Crescent as well as books like His Obsession and the growth of Erotica Romance. I applaud all of you. *grin*

Stephan is a character that was a bit of a shock for me. His age was one reason and his development is the other. You see his character growth and feel his passion for the one thing he thinks he should not want. He definitely berates himself quite often.

Ursula is a heroine that threw me for a curve. I was surprised to see where Ms. Crescent took this character. A good girl with a loving family, Ursula has an innocence about her. Ursula was in need of something, but what, she didn’t know until she hired on as a day maid for the mysterious Stephan. After having such crappy luck with men can she truly trust again? What are these feelings building inside her?

Stephan and Ursula melt the pages. Their uniqueness is an odd coupling, but I must admit they caught my interest. I just had to see how Ms. Crescent was going to work her magic on this hero and heroine.

As secondary characters go, I can’t wait to see what Ms. Crescent has in store for Caden, Violet, Sean, Lucas and James. As far as I’m concerned, they were just as much a big pull for me as Stephan and Ursula. They added texture to a smooth palette and kept me laughing with their raw humor.

The plot had everything I look for in a stellar read: strong characters, a descriptive setting, and an evil bad guy who gave me chills. His Obsession by Sam Crescent was 100% smoking’ H.O.T! The plot was intense with a suspenseful outcome that even surprised me.

Ms. Crescent have you visited the type of gentlemen clubs mentioned in His Obsession?

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

Educating the Platypus by Charlie Richards

Educating the Platypus by Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Genre: GLBT, Erotic Paranormal Romance, M/M
Length: 102 pages

Summary:

Enjoying a last hoo-rah before another tough year of college begins, Kai Sudderson and his friends vacation in Kansas. He takes advantage of the secluded pond system behind his rented cabin to go swimming…in his platypus form.

Living with his aunt and uncle, Kai had never met anyone else with the ability to turn into an animal. That is, until he gets himself snared in a beaver trap and a penguin shifter rescues him. Unable to pass up the opportunity for not only knowledge but medical treatment, Kai accompanies his new friend home.

There, he meets Dorian Yaris, who—despite being so much older and having such a serious disposition—calls to Kai like no other.

When Dorian explains about mates, will Kai consider the bonding thing with someone so obviously different or will he deny everything and return to his former life?

Evelise’s Review:

Educating the Platypus by Charlie Richards was sweet and worth the read. A product of the series Kontra’s Menagerie, condor shifter Dorian –an alpha in his own right- skirts the line of involvement with Kontra’s pack. The California condor, a loner, soon discovers a young platypus, Kai is his mate. Kai, raised by his human aunt and uncle, knows very little of shifters, let alone mates.

Dorian’s treatment of Kai was respectful and sweet. Drawn to the much younger man, Dorian recognized the need for a slower pace and the need for Kai’s freedom of acceptance.

Charlie Richards always delivers lovely stories of warmth but this story did not have the depth delivered in previous tales. As a reader, very little educating was revealed, but insinuated. This reader loves detail.

I do believe that Ms. Richards has set us up for the next book in the series, as Luc and Kai’s cousin Dylan seemed to hit it off. Another story I look forward to.

Rated 3.5 Delightful Divas by Evelise!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

Hiding In Plain Sight by Cassandra Carr

Hiding In Plain Sight by Cassandra Carr
Series: Safe Harbor #2
Publisher: Loose Id
Genre: GLBT, Erotic Contemporary, M/M
Length: 150 pages

Summary:

Vladimir Gusev exists in a living hell. A year ago in the Olympics he was forced to use a homophobic slur during a game, and guilt is eating him from the inside out. Not only is Vladimir not a homophobe, but in the aftermath of the Olympics, he was finally able to admit his true nature to himself. Yet he’s been taught homosexuality is a sin, so he tries to push away his feelings, but to no avail.

Joe Bufford is an out gay man and an ex-Delta Force member who was medically discharged after an injury to his hand leaves him no longer able to perform his duties. His job as a mechanic at the airport is hardly a long-term career choice, but Joe has no idea where he can utilize the skills he learned in the Army.

Vladimir and Joe meet, and Joe instantly recognizes Vladimir as a terrified closet case. Before he knows it, Joe is offering to help Vladimir figure out what he is and what he wants. As time goes on, Joe begins to hope more and more that the answers to those questions lie with him.

Lasha’s Review:

I read and reviewed See the Light (Safe Harbor #1) about a year ago and enjoyed it very much, enough to try Hiding in Plain Sight, the second book in this series. As with the first book, one of the main characters is in the closet and terrified to come out. Vlad is a Russian hockey player in the NHL and desperate that his teammates and the world not find out he’s gay. When he meets and is attracted to Joe Bufford, former Army Delta Force member, that theory is put to the test.

First, there were aspects of the story I enjoyed and I’d like to talk about them. I liked that Joe was Vlad’s “mentor” into the world of a newly out gay man. Their friendship was one of the best things about this novel. Second, we get to see Jason and Patrick from the previous book and their added support when Vlad comes out is truly beautiful.

Now, to the things I felt needed some work. Unfortunately, I didn’t feel any sexual chemistry between Vlad and Joe. I wanted to, but it just wasn’t there for me as a reader. Second, there were a lot of hanging plot lines that didn’t work within the context of this ‘coming out’ tale (Joe’s Army friend). It’s those two reasons why I couldn’t give Hiding in Plain Sight a higher rating.

Rated 2.5 Delightful Divas by Lasha!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



January 10th, 2015

My Sexy Sensei by Fran Lee

My Sexy Sensei by Fran Lee
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing
Genre: Erotic, Contemporary Romance
Length: 250 pages

Summary:

Lisa Hampton is committed to her career, but a woman in the traditional Japanese martial arts is seldom taken seriously. At least not until one hot and hunky man takes her very seriously. James Rhee runs his own brand of martial arts studio, teaching movie stars who want to shine in their on-screen stunts.

It’s a job Lisa genuinely wants no part of. But she soon finds it’s hard to refuse the maddening man anything…including her body. Before she knows it, she’s let her guard down and sinfully sizzling sex has turned into something she simply can’t fight.

Note: This book was previously published as A Brief Moment of Pleasure.

Dakota’s Review:

What can I say about the delightful Ms Lee’s work? A lot! She’s been an autobuy of mine for the past few years and My Sexy Sensei was no exception. I loved the unique characters she weaved into this story. Placing Lisa in what traditionally is a male dominated world was refreshing and I enjoyed Lisa’s character a hundred percent, even when I wanted to strangle her for being stubborn.

Now James on the other hand? Lets just say Ms. Lee broke the mold when she whipped up his yummy deliciousness. A combination of an honorable man and bad boy. Makes me wonder how many times she was ready to pull her hair out while working with him. I will say though the resulting chemistry between him and Lisa damn near had my e-reader melting. So if you’re looking for a super sexy read between two stubborn characters that will have you rooting for them, Sexy Sensei is definitely the book for you!

Rated 4 1/2 Delightful Divas by Dakota!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 30th, 2014

DDR Spotlight : Wrong Bride by Geri Foster

Wrong Bride

Misty Walker has agreed to be the wedding coordinator for the bride from hell, literally. When she overhears the future bride discussing how she and the lover plan to off the groom on the honeymoon. Misty decides she must warn the unsuspecting Mitch Collins.

Mitch arrives in the Dallas area drenched in doubts about marrying the wrong woman and wondering if he made a mistake. While waiting for the wedding date, a mysterious woman shows up at his place and after spending the night together, he realizes the wedding must be stopped.

The bride-to-be isn’t happy with the turn of events and takes matters into her own hands. Can Misty and Mitch learn how important it is to find the right life partner?

Amazon Kindle

ddrexcerptbutton

Chicken Marsala sailed through the air before splattering on the young kitchen helper’s clean, white apron. Next, the plate the delicacy had been served on crashed into the wall, along with the utensils.

“You’re fired,” Priscilla McFadden screamed. “You’re too stupid for me to mess with. This whole wedding is going to be a disaster.”

Misty Walker slowly counted well past ten then took an infuriated breath. Though only eleven thirty, today had proven to be the worst morning yet for coordinating the McFadden/Collins wedding.

She approached the young aid. “It isn’t that bad. The caterer can make adjustments.”

“Adjustments?” Once more the bride-to-be screeched. “He’s ruined everything.”

With a brain smaller than an insect’s, the drama queen had no premonition or notion or inkling of how the end product would look. Nothing had happened that couldn’t be fixed, but Priscilla suffered from a lack of patience and good old fashioned acceptable behavior.

ddrabouttheauthorbutton

As long as she can remember, Geri Foster has been a lover of reading and the written words. In the seventh grade she wore out two library cards and had read every book in her age area of the library. After raising a family and saying good-bye to the corporate world, she tried her hand at writing.

To her surprise, she won a couple of contests, hooked up with a really great critique group and her writing career was well on its way. She spent several years studying her craft and developing her voice.

Action, intrigue, danger and sultry romance drew her like a magnet. That’s why she has no choice but to write action-romance suspense. While she reads every genre under the sun, she’s always been drawn to guns, bombs and fighting men. Secrecy and suspense move her to write edgy stories about daring and honorable heroes who manage against all odds to end up with their one true love.

To keep the serious side of life at bay she likes to write sexy short stories for her fans. Be on the lookout for these short stories and more by following her on Facebook & Twitter.

Website: http://www.gerifoster.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/geri.foster1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/gerifoster

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7052385.Geri_Foster

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gerifoster/



 



September 30th, 2014

Top Off Tuesday: Stick Shift by Lissa Matthews

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

StickShift300x450

Amazon Kindle

Falling in love at two hundred miles per hour…

Cam Carter is young, hot, and cocky as hell. He’s loved by some, respected by few, and hated by more. He’ll do anything to win the next race, the championship, or the heart of the girl.

Lily is unlike any other challenge Cam has faced. Quiet, full-figured, and several years older, she’s trying everything she can to resist the pull of this bad boy of racing.

Can they find a way to cross the finish line and take the checkered flag together? Or will obstacles, both inside and out, push against them until they crash and burn?

Revised, with expanded scenes.

Previously published with Loose Id, LLC



 



September 11th, 2014

Embers Burn by Ditter Kellen

Embers Burn by Ditter Kellen
Publisher: Loose Id
Genre: Mystery & Suspense, Contemporary Romance
Length: 52 pages

Amazon Kindle

Summary:

Ember Wells knows the fear of having a serial killer set his sites on you. For one horrible year she became the target of one man’s twisted game. But with the killer convicted and behind bars, Ember’s life as a photojournalist has finally returned to normal. That is, until Angelo Dimitrov moves in next door.

Angelo, known as Angel, is sexy, irresistible, and definitely hiding something. He calls up every erotic fantasy Ember could imagine while triggering perpetual doubt in her reporter’s mind.

Now a copycat has emerged, with the killer’s M.O. and signature, including his interest in Ember. With fear her constant companion, Ember’s suspicions fall on her sexy new neighbor with one too many secrets. She can’t trust him, but she burns for him, and Ember’s heart refuses to believe the threats come from the Angel of her dreams.

Note: Ember Burns is the first part of a serial novel, and as such lacks a traditional happy ending. The next installment will be available in early 2014. Feel the burn! Don’t wait. Pick up the first part today!

Shandy Jo’s Review:

This was a bit frustrating, as it’s a serial novel so you’re getting the first 50 pages of the book then waiting how ever long for another installment. It’s frustrating because it ends just as the story is getting good.

Ember is a decent character, she’s trying to get her life back together after being targeted by a serial killer. This has made her overly cautious, and maybe a little paranoid, but then who wouldn’t be after being stalked. When she meets Angel there is immediate lust, but he seems to good to be true. This is where Ember falls out of her cautious little bubble and bangs him after just meeting him. Granted the sex scenes are hot, seriously I wanted to go out and sit in a snow bank after reading them, but it seemed too fast and not right for this wary woman.

There’s a lot more going on than meets the eye and now I’m hooked so I’ll have to get my grubby little hands on the next installment so I can see where this is all going.

Rated 4.5 Delightful Divas by Shandy Jo!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 11th, 2014

The Bad Wolf by Meredith Russell

The Bad Wolf by Meredith Russell
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Genre: GLBT, Erotic Paranormal Romance, M/M
Length: 157 pages

Summary:

The journey to become a better man isn’t easy, especially when there’s something worth fighting for.

Evan has been alone since Kaine’s death, moving from place to place, and for the most part, keeping to himself. He never expected to cross paths with Mason and Niall again. When he gets caught up in something bigger than himself, he is left injured, scared, and with nowhere else to turn.

Michael is like no wolf Evan has ever met before. Born a werewolf, Michael is stronger and faster, but has yet to truly tap into his abilities. Taken in by Mason and Niall, Michael struggles to come to terms with the horrific events in his past and the loss of his family. In Evan, Michael finds an unexpected focus. And despite warnings of Evan’s own dark past, Michael finds Evan to be someone worth fighting for, and someone who can help him understand exactly what he is capable of.

Evelise’s Review:

The Bad Wolf, The Lone Wolves Trilogy #2 by Meredith Russell was an interesting mesh of wolf, hunter and human. The story dealt with the relationship of made wolves Evan and Mason and their lives after the death of the treacherous alpha, Kaine. Mason and Niall have found peace and harmony in their lives as a loving couple. Together they help heal born-wolf Michael, a young man with a dark past and deep-seeded issues.

Evan, alone, found himself attacked and in need of refuge. His seeking landed him at the doorstep of Niall and Mason, and none of them too pleased. Michael and Evan discovered a unique bond between them, which raised more questions than gave answers.

Ms. Russell delivered a tale of sentiment and a journey of discovery. Both Michael and Evan must come to terms with the life they are to lead and must find a way to coexist with each other, as well as Mason and Niall in their make shift pack.

The story moved along and gave more incite to the psyche of the wolves created by Meredith Russell. The wolves retain an air of darkness, even with their mates, thus allowing them to be a true beast when in wolf form.

This reviewer is a fan of Ms. Russell and all her works and I look forward to the next tale in the trilogy.

Rated 3.5 Delightful Divas by Evelise!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 11th, 2014

The Wolf’s Healing Touch by Charlie Richards

The Wolf’s Healing Touch by Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Genre: GLBT, Erotic Paranormal Romance, M/M
Length: 112 pages

Summary:

Out of the Cage: Sometimes a healing touch comes from a predator.

Having been raised by his puma shifter godfather, Edwin Aldridge has always known that paranormal creatures exist. Edwin works as a genetic engineer, attempting to apply a shifter’s healing abilities to humans. When Edwin learns that another scientist has done something similar, he looks forward to reviewing his work. Edwin quickly becomes infatuated with Byron, the wolf shifter who delivers the information. Remembering his godfather’s stories, Edwin realizes the wolf shifter is his mate. Unfortunately, once Byron learns about Edwin’s research, the wolf shifter rejects him.

When Byron Ziegler scents Edwin, he knows the skinny government agent is his mate. He plans to pursue him, eager to learn everything about the human so they can build a life together. Then Byron learns that Edwin is a scientist working on shifter DNA. He’s devastated and turns his back on the human. While Byron regrets the decision, how can he bond with a man that wants to do the same thing as the people his pack spent years tracking down and stopping?
Will the mate-pull be enough to help them find common ground?

Evelise’s Review:

The Wolf’s Healing Touch by Charlie Richards, another installment of The Wolves of Stone Ridge was told through the eyes of a human scientist, rather than a shifter. Although the human was a mate to a shifter, the perspective switch was interesting.

Byron was part of the pack and along with other member’s was tasked to deliver a scientist who had been experimenting on shifters. Edwin, a human scientist, knew about shifters from his godfather (a shifter) and had been contracted to find the secret to helping humans heal utilizing shifter blood.

I enjoyed both characters, since I am fond of the series, but found Edwin slightly whiny. I’m also not sure why the book was titled as it was since the wolf really didn’t heal anyone. Yes, Edwin discovered he was inadvertently experimenting on shifters and was extremely upset, but I felt an integral part of the story was glossed over.

On a high note, Jared was one of my favorite characters from previous books and he made numerous appearances in The Wolf’s Healing Touch.

Rated 3 Delightful Divas by Evelise!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 11th, 2014

Bedtime Stories (Collection) by Shelby Morgen

Bedtime Stories (Collection) by Shelby Morgen
Publisher: Changeling Press
Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance
Length: 155 pages

Summary:

Bedtime Stories’ webmaster Carter Roth has two great passions: his work, and his lover, Brody Mann. So when he learns someone’s hacked into his precious website, Carter is determined to track down the culprit and make him pay! Editor Claire Casson is on the run. The last thing she wants or needs in her life is the complication of an alpha dragon capable of setting her blood on fire.

Jean-Paul, incubus editor, has been assigned a new author. Dominick may be a fantastic author, but when he gets aroused, he turns into a real ogre… When review coordinator Pixie calls reviewer B.J. Smith into the office to discuss a bad review, she finds out “she” is two males. Very drool-worthy males. Callie, the Bedtime Stories mascot, is about to get all the loving she can handle… if she can just shut up. Brad, the warehouse manager, revisits the past with a steamy confrontation with the man who broke his heart twenty years earlier.

Bedtime Stories in no way represents any actual publishing company. Any resemblance to the staff and authors of Changeling Press is purely coincidental.

That’s our story and we’re sticking to it.

This collection contains the previously released Bedtime Stories titles:

Troll’s Blog by Shelby Morgen
Beyond Boundaries by Hunter Raines
Kiss of Fire by B.J. McCall
Ugly Duckling by Lena Austin
Pixie’s Playmate by Anne Kane
Shut Up! by Marteeka Karland
Raising Caine by Reneé George

Dakota’s Review:

What can I say about this delightful little collection? Well quite a bit. The novellas/short stories in Bedtime Stories lived up to their name. Since this is a collection, below I’ve given a brief review of each story.

Troll’s Blog by Ms. Shelby Morgen : This story is the one that starts it all. I loved not only Sam (our hunky cop disguised as a Bad Boy Biker), but also Maddie aka the Troll. This short had everything from fast bikes to fantasies. And the sex was sizzling hot with a little bit of voyeurism thrown in on the side. Ms. Morgen did a wonderful job kicking off the collection.

Beyond Boundaries by Hunter Raines: Dear Lord! Want to talk about hot? I can’t think of anything much hotter than a sexy Special Forces Agent/Hacker challenging his vampire lover to loosen up a bit and let the vamp come out to play. The tension in this story was nearly as delicious as the sex. All I can say is that Brody is definitely more courageous than I am. But then again he’s determined to get his man. Ms Raines concocted a story that left me breathless.

Kiss of Fire by B.J. McCall: Ooooh! Yum, can we say dragon shifters? I love em, love em, love em. Ms McCall’s contribution to this collection was more than delicious. Her heroine, the sexy Claire was more than an ample challenge for her soon-to-be mate, Jonas. Add into the mix an unknown stalker and you have a tantalizing little read. A very well done shifter story. :D

Ugly Duckling by Lena Austin: Le Sigh….Ms. Austin’s contribution is both sexy as hell and a tear jerker all in one. How she did it? I’m not entirely sure, but who couldn’t help but feel for Dominic (the ogre but no ogre) and Jean-Paul, a cursed incubus. Both characters pulled on my heartstrings even as the sex between them had me panting. Kudos to Ms. Austin for writing such a gem of a tale.

Pixie’s Playmate by Anne Kane: OMG times three. That’s what Ms. Kane’s sweet little short is. Whew! I could only wish I had Pixie’s luck when it came to reviewers. Not only are Jake and Bill hunky, they have a sexual imagination that would put the Kama Sutra to shame and aren’t afraid to share it. This story had me looking for a tall drink of something cold before I self-combusted!

Shut Up! by Marteeka Karland: What a cute edition to this collection. Ms. Karland stretched the boundaries with her sassy little tale of a kitty shifter and a reject character looking for someone who will accept them as they are. So if you love sarcasm and steamy sex with a playful kitty, then this is the story for you. :)

Raising Caine by Reneé George: Oh the angst….a lonely vampire and the love of his youth… Ms. George did a wonderful job of giving an old familiar story a new twist. As a vamp, Caine was just to die for. Devious at times, yet vulnerable at others. While Victor was a man after my own heart. I was really rooting for these two to find their own HEA. Raising Caine, is a delicious little tidbit for all those paranormal lovers.

Bedtime Stories is a delightful collection of stories that more than satisfied this reviewer’s kinky bone for things that go bump in the dark. It was done in a refreshing way, with each story connected through a fictitious publishing company, Bedtime Stories and the quirky individuals who are behind the scenes. From the ‘I dare you.’ CEO to the vampires maintaining the websites – to the incubus editors and pixie reviewers, there will be something to satisfy everyone’s taste in paranormal.

Rated 4.5 Delightful Divas Dakota!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 11th, 2014

Lycan Unleashed by Tiffany Allee

Lycan Unleashed by Tiffany Allee
Publisher: Entangled Publishing, Ever After
Genre: GLBT, Paranormal Romance, M/M
Length: 162 pages

Summary:

Detective Astrid Holmes is a sensitive, a human capable of feeling the energy of otherworlders. When she is dispatched to the horrific murder scene of a local vampire, she expects it to be just another day on the job. But when evidence is stolen on her watch, she is removed–not only from the investigation, but from her job as a member of the Chicago police department’s paranormal unit.

Astrid’s only hope of reinstatement lies with her ex co-worker and almost-lover, Lycan Mason Sanderson. But convincing the OWEA agent to let her assist with the investigation isn’t nearly as difficult as staying alive when the murderer realizes that Astrid may hold the key to unlocking his identity.

Fighting to take down a killer could have deadly consequences for Astrid and Mason, but working together puts their already fragile relationship in jeopardy.

Shandy Jo’s Review:

This is the third book in the Otherworlder Enforcement Agency series and I really enjoyed books one and two as well as some of Ms. Allee’s other works. Of course I had to give this a read too. Sadly I wasn’t as taken with Astrid and Mason as I had been with her other characters.

I really enjoyed the plot and was swept up in the investigation from the get go. I really enjoy how Ms. Allee creates her world by mixing magic and the paranormal with police investigations. It’s very well balanced and allows you to believe that the two could mingle.

Astrid is a sensitive working for the police department, but when she is called to the scene of a murdered vampire and things go downhill from there. Stolen evidence leads to Astrid’s removal from the case and an internal investigation. Her only hope is to catch whoever stole the evidence and find the killer. To do that she has to turn to the man who confuses her like no other.

Mason has the alpha wolf/man thing down pat. He does things his way and uses intimidation to get what he wants. But Astrid has seen through the tough guy act. Mason has much more going on under his hard outer shell. These two had chemistry, but the build up was a bit too long for me. I actually breathed a sigh of release when they finally got together. I wasn’t crazy about Mason’s reasons for keeping Astrid at arms length, but could understand them. Although Astrid’s issue after he confessed, irked me.

Overall, I did enjoy the book, but in my opinion it had a few issues.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Shandy Jo!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 11th, 2014

Calming a Demon Heart by Charlie Richards

Calming a Demon Heart by Charlie Richards
Series: A Paranormal’s Love # 6
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Genre: GLBT, Paranormal Shapeshifter, Erotic Romance, M/M
Length: 112 pages

Summary:

Matthew Beakman’s life just got turned upside down. His brother, Marty, stumbled across something strange and fascinating and amazing! Gargoyles exist! Matthew wants to know everything about them. First, though, he wants to find the gargoyle that saved his brother’s life and thank him.

Their people’s leader, Maelgwn, points out a blood-red, behemoth of a gargoyle named Vane, then warns Matthew away from him. Never good at following orders—and because he can’t help but find himself intrigued by the huge creature across the room—Matthew tracks Vane down anyway.

At first, he’s confused by the way his body responds every time Vane growls at him, until a conversation with Logan makes him suspect that he and Vane are mates. Unfortunately, he also learns Vane went through some extreme torture in the hands of humans.

How can he convince the stubborn gargoyle that not all humans are the same?

Jessie’s Review:

Ms. Richards’ book Calming A Demon Heart ( A Paranormal’s Love: Book Six) was set at the estate of the group of gargoyles in a secluded area.

Matthew Beakman was in shock over the shooting of his brother, when out of no where Marty is kidnapped from the hospital. When Matt and his friend Logan try to find out what happened, they themselves are kidnapped.

Vane is a gargoyle with a painful past. He is a loner, lost in a world of mistrust towards humans. As his fellow gargoyle Raymond tends to his mate, Marty, Vane realizes that Matthew is his mate. He resist the handsome human, but Matthew has other ideas.

As the past comes back to Vane, he finally sees he needs Matthew. Calming A Demon Heart is a true story of love finding a way, even if one of people involved is fighting it. A wonderfully intriguing story of love and putting the past to rest. Ms. Richards does it again.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Jessie!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 9th, 2014

Top Off Tuesday : Highland Burn by Victoria Zak

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Every week, Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading,and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see those Top Off covers that grab your attention! Please play along and tell us your favorites (old, new, or not yet released). Button made by Missie at The Unread Reader and Diana at Book of Secrets.

Every once in a while there are covers that just make you say Oh My! Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is bad, and sometimes it is head scratching. The point of Top Off Tuesday is to show you the ones with their Tops Off!

Summary:

Will Love’s Flame Quench the Dragon’s Fire? …

The past never stays in the past, it rears its ugly head eventually. James the Black Douglas knows this all too well. With a past that has left him vengeful and his dragon blood thirsty, his reputation as a ruthless warrior haunts his enemies in their sleep. As his allegiance stands with Robert Bruce, the King of Scotland, he must now repay a debt to the king and agrees to marry his daughter, Abigale Bruce. The problem is he doesn’t want a wife. When flames start to burn out of control between him and the auburn-haired lass, he must decide to either kindle the flames of passion or shelter her from the truth and set her free.

It’s What Shines in the Dark That Brings Forth Your True Light…

Determined to keep his daughter safe and out of the hands of the English, Robert hides Abigale behind the safe walls of a nunnery. After eight long years of living her life in seclusion, Abigale is finally set free. But her new found freedom comes to an abrupt halt when she learns of her betrothal to the infamous Bogeyman – James the Black Douglas. She soon finds herself falling in love with the uncontainable and haunted man. Is her love enough to soften his hardened heart?

Related Posts with Thumbnails