December 31st, 2013

River’s Redemption by Anne Rainey

River’s Redemption by Anne Rainey
Series: Black Water, Book 5
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance
Length: 98 pages

Summary:

He’d make her his future…if only he could rewrite his past.

Blackwater, Book 5

Before his adoptive parents stepped in, River’s childhood was little more than hellish misery. He still has the demons to prove it. Too bad he can’t seem to convince Jeanette Munroe that he’s damaged goods, and anything beyond friendship is an act of futility.

He’s done everything in his power to keep his ugly past from touching her sweet, innocent heart. Yet when he learns she’s been mugged, nothing will keep him from her side. And soon all he can think about is stripping her bruised body naked.

Ever since she tripped over her clumsy ninth-grade feet and into his life, Jeanette has been secretly crazy about her best friend. To her frustration, he’s never seemed to notice—until he comes to her rescue like the white knight she’s always believed him to be.

River never realized how deep and hard he hungered for Jeanette until her kiss, her touch sets his desire free. But as the heat between them rises to fever pitch, his secrets threaten to shatter any chance for a future.

Warning: Contains a green-eyed devil of a man with a tortured past, and a woman more than capable of chasing his nightmares away—one scorching kiss at a time. May cause an uncontrollable desire to give or get a hickie.

Deb’s Review:

OMG, have your tissue’s at the ready because Ms. Rainey kicked up the emotion level in River’s Redemption. I read it in 2 hrs.

River captured my heart a while ago, but now I am happy to have his story. I applaud Anne Rainey on creating a character who’s not only a total bad-ass, but also one with a golden heart. I enjoy the private times River had with his mom Wanda. River just knows once his past is out Jeanette will run the other way, but is he right?

Jeanette is a sassy handful that I enjoyed getting to know throughout the series. She had me laughing, yes even cheering her on in her quest to seek River’s heart. There were a few times I wanted her to slap a certain Alpha male upside the head. *smiles* Jeanette has been in love with River almost as long as she has known him, so tired of waiting, she decides it’s time to kick it up a few notches. Look out River because there is a lioness on the prowl.

River and Jeanette have a special chemistry that combined with need and lust turns frenzied. Will they and the people around them survive? I have to give props to Anne Rainey for the raw emotions she brilliantly delivers in River’s Redemption. I was totally caught up in the book to the point that I didn’t realize I had reached the end of the story and that’s saying a lot about Anne Rainey’s writing.

The secondary characters aided in River and Jeanette’s story, but pretty much let this become a River and Jeanette moment. I will say I enjoyed that Lucy and Jeanette was able to bond, which will make the twins life more interesting. (Insert evil laugh here.)

The plot is as brilliant as the author who created it, Never one to leave an emotional stone unturned, Ms. Rainey captured them all. I have to ask though, now that we have all the Jennings boys stories, will we see any more books on them?

I need to do a special shout-out to Anne Rainey for giving us a series full of sexy, heartfelt, delicious men and the women who love them. These will always be my favorite Anne Rainey moments.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas and a Recommended Read by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



December 31st, 2013

Reilly’s Wildcard by Anne Rainey

Reilly’s Wildcard by Anne Rainey
Series: Blackwater, Book 4
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance
Length: 135 pages

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook

Summary:

The most potent lover she’s ever had…and the morning sickness to prove it!

Lucy Rice knew that a night of uninhibited passion with sex-on-a-stick Reilly Jennings would leave a lasting impression on her body. But never in a million years did she expect to see a plus sign appear on that little white stick. Pregnant? She can’t believe her eyes. When a second test confirms it, Lucy admits the truth. She’s about to be a one-night-stand mommy. How’s that for luck?

Reilly never wanted the responsibility of fatherhood, much less tie himself to an infuriating, headstrong woman like Lucy. Still, his sense of honor won’t let him abandon his baby like his biological parents abandoned him. Yet it isn’t long before he’s captivated by the coming baby—and the mother carrying it.

Lucy is rocked with all sorts of conflicting feelings for the father of her child. Unfortunately, she’s been down that road before, and it left her a blubbering mess. Not again. No way, no how. Except Reilly seems hell-bent on keeping her close. Maybe it’s the hormones, but Lucy’s beginning to forget why that’s a bad idea…

Deb’s Review:

Finally the twins! Ms. Rainey kept me on pins and needles waiting for the delicious dose of the Jennings twins. Here we get Reilly’s story.

Reilly is a true heartbreaker. I was totally blown away by how much depth Ms. Rainey gave to this hero. Reilly is much tamer then his older siblings. Instead, he plays his heart closer to home, which is a powerful attribute in a man. Riley takes a shining to Lucy from the start; but can he make her see that all men aren’t dogs?

Lucy is one sweet, brave heroine who had my attention from the first chapter. She had me laughing throughout. Ms. Rainey did a marvelous job at pairing Lucy with Reilly. Can Reilly prove to her that they are worth taking a chance on? I have a bad feeling Lucy’s dad is going to turn up like a bad penny. What is his story Ms. Rainey?

Reilly and Lucy are devastatingly charming, yet explosive. Reilly sure does know how to show Lucy what she means to him. All that raw, sexual power would bring even the strongest of women to their knees.

The supporting characters consist of Reilly’s siblings and their better-halves. Wanda is such an amazing woman, which makes me love her character even more. I enjoyed catching up with them all. I still have not heard wedding bells yet for any of the Jennings boys. Are we ever going to see them wed?

Ms. Rainey has a knack for writing delicious books with just enough sizzle to keep you craving more, and just enough heart to have yours beat a bit faster. That is what makes Anne Rainey one of New York’s top selling authors.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas and a Recommended Read by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 17th, 2013

Behind Blue Eyes by T.L. Schaefer

Behind Blue Eyes by T.L. Schaefer
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Length: 304 pages

Summary:

When all eyes are on you, there’s nowhere to run…except TOWARD the truth.

Crime-scene photographer Sara Covington hides behind her camera from the otherworldly ability that’s caused her nothing but grief her whole life. Yet denial doesn’t protect her when she runs across a serial killer with an aural signature she’s never encountered.

Suddenly she’s without a job and with nowhere to turn…except to an enigmatic, sexy-as-hell detective with a disquieting talent for seeing right through her defenses.

Brian Roney’s fascination with Sara compels him to bring her in on the case that ultimately gets her fired. Even though he senses her mutual attraction, something holds her back from stepping into his arms. He’s as determined to find out why she’s pushing him away as he is to keep her safe.

When the killer strikes again, Sara realizes the only way to stop the madman is come clean about her painful past—and embrace the gift she has so long denied. Before the grisly trail of bodies leads right to her doorstep.

Product Warnings

A sexy alpha cop, a heroine with a past (and super spidey sense) and a maniac on the loose…what’s not to love?

Shandy Jo’s Review:

I love, love, loved Sara (aka Christie). Her past is so disturbing, yet she rises above it to become something more. Tough as nails when she needs to be, yet can get all girly too.

Brian was a also a great character, I love his tough outside demeanor, which hid/ protected the wounded guy inside. Although I was completely boggled by his outburst about the contacts. It really seemed like just an excuse to push Sara away.

The chemistry between these two was undeniable and when they finally got together wow whee… grab the ice water. Yet it wasn’t the total focus of the book which I liked. I enjoyed the plot. All the cat and mouse chasing paired with the supernatural aspect really kept me flipping pages. I really liked how the abilities just helped and didn’t become an over powering element. Sara used her knowledge garnered through hard work, just as much as her abilities.

I thought the tidbits placed at the beginning of each chapter about Sara’s past added to the book. Giving the reader more insight and making it hard to not feel for Sara.

All in all, Behind Blue Eyes by T.L. Schaefer will take the reader on a very enjoyable thrill ride.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Shandy Jo!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



July 13th, 2013

Breath of Fire by Liliana Hart

Breath of Fire by Liliana Hart
{A Rena Drake Novel}
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Length: 325 pages

Summary:

Born to be mates…destined to be enemies.

A Rena Drake Novel

Since the Banishment, Rena has become the Drakán Enforcer, cleaning up the messes her dragon brethren make in order to keep their presence in the human world hidden.

When a group of rogue Drakán begins killing dragons who refuse to join the army of the Destroyer—the dragon they believe will become their true king—Rena has no choice but to take action.

Special Agent Noah Ford appears, seemingly out of nowhere, to offer his assistance and protection. Protection, from a human? Hell, no. But something about him draws her hypnotically, erotically close. Some secret he refuses to reveal.

Every clue Rena uncovers indicates Julian, leader of one of the five clans, is the Destroyer. But when she confronts Julian, the blue mating fire—a phenomenon that hasn’t been seen since the Banishment—engulfs them both.

Burning with need for two very different men, Rena must choose to kill the one destined to be her mate. Or see her people’s dreams of home turned to a pile of ashes.

Warning: This novel contains high-speed car chases, crackling thighs, magic duels, naughty words, and sex on ceilings, tables, high in a tower, in the shower and—you get the drift.

Susan’s Review:

Wow! After being hooked on Liliana Hart’s books because of their sexy suspenseful story lines, I now have to say, I am hooked on her books because of the magic she brings to life. Well developed, thought out magical characters come to life right before the reader’s eyes.

Fire breathing, flying dragons light up the pages with powerful characters that demand your attention. You will find yourself yelling at the book when you realize that this is just the beginning of a new series that will grab you by your heart and have you pacing waiting for the next edition to surface.

Two men, one a powerful dragon, the other a man that calls to her non-dragon side. Who should Rena choose? Noah, the man who seems to know so much more about her than she does herself and awakens her female needs. Julian, the dragon who is so powerful that he can create happiness or heart breaking sadness around her. Their passion is beautiful, dynamic, and hypnotic. Will their energy kill the other? Will she be able to save her people? Will she ever be the same again? You have to read Breath of Fire to find out!

Rated 4.5 Delightful Divas by Susan!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



July 12th, 2013

Breaking Bad by Jodi Redford

Breaking Bad by Jodi Redford
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Erotic, Paranormal Romance
Length: 115 pages

Summary:

No super deed goes unpunished…

A Midnight Justice story.

It’s been twenty-five years since the last Light Guardian was wiped out. Or so it’s believed. Ruby Winston is about to blow the lid off that theory, even though it’ll bring every Shadow Czar minion down on her ass.

She’s always known she was different from the rest of the evil-dictators-in-training Winstons. Uncovering the secret half of her gene pool proves it. Now she’s out to bring down her late father’s mind-control soda empire—and break the Shadow Czars’ hold on Earth.

Problem is, becoming a superhero overnight isn’t as easy as it looks.

Teague Younger has his own secrets to keep: his heritage, and his fierce determination to exact revenge on his friend and mentor’s murderer. So far he’s kept his cover—until he’s forced to use his Light Guardian powers to save Ruby from a sticky situation.

Thrust together and on the run, Teague and Ruby form a wary alliance as they desperately fight their circuit-blowing attraction. With an army of Shadow Queen minions hot on their tails, they might have a hard time surviving the night, much less ignoring their hearts.

Warning: This book contains mind-controlling beverages, evil dictators and minions, excessive use of spandex, and enough electrifying sex to melt an ice train.

Shandy Jo Review:

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I’m a fan of superheros, and Breaking Bad didn’t disappoint. Teague and Ruby are great characters with lots of chemistry. The sexual tension between the two added to the atmosphere of the overall plot. Their witty banter and humorous situations helped keep the book from being too dark. The world building was well done, but the mind controlling soda reminded me a bit of the Koo Koo Cola cult in an episode of the Rescue Rangers. Only on a much larger scale.

The suspense kept me reading and on the edge of my seat. Lots of great action, as one would expect in a superhero book. I found Breaking Bad to be a quick read, as I became swept up in the tension, action, and romance. I think Ms. Redford did a great job and I really enjoyed her writing style. I will be keeping my eye out for more books from her.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas and a Recommended Read by Shandy Jo!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



April 17th, 2013

Stroke Rate by L.M. Somerton

Stroke Rate by L.M. Somerton
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Genre: GLBT, BDSM, M/M, Erotic Romance
Length: 121 pages

Summary:

Lucien Thorne likes to be in control, but the boy he wants to own may take some convincing.

Gorgeous but shy, Benedict Astor does his best to keep a low profile at the rowing club where he works. However, unbeknown to Benedict, he has attracted the attention of Lucien Thorne, rowing aristocracy, an Olympic medallist and a Lord.

Whilst looking for a new rowing partner, Lucien believes he has found what he needs in Ben. He pushes him to his limits on the water and it becomes clear that rowing with the pretty young man is not his only interest. Ben is attracted to Lucien but confused about his feelings. Lucien is demanding, arrogant and dominant—which Benedict responds to even though he feels he should resist.

Fighting emotions he doesn’t understand, Ben has to contend with the bullying rowing club president and a humiliating auction of promises.

Lucien recognises Ben’s hidden submissive streak and makes his own need for control very clear. He bids for Ben’s time and then forces Ben to admit to his own desire to test the ground between them.

When the deeds to the boat club are gambled away, Lucien and Ben must work together to save it. Will their growing love survive the pressure, Ben’s uncertainty and Lucien’s desire to own him completely?

Reader Advisory: This book contains scorching scenes of dominance and submission between two professional rowers with smoking hot bodies! This includes bondage, chastity devices and orgasm denial, a bratty sub and a foul-mouthed, harsh Dom. There’s also a very brief scene of attempted sexual coercion by a character not involved in the relationship.

Samhain Queene’s Review:

Stroke Rate is the first book I’ve read by L. M. Somerton. I’m definitely going to check out more of her work.

In Stroke Rate, we’re introduced to Ben and Lucien. Total opposites, Ben is completely oblivious to Lucien’s interest until Lucien requests Ben row with him one morning. Dealing with his growing attraction to Lucien, Ben also has to deal with his innate submissiveness.

While training to compete to win back the deeds to their rowing club, Lucien and Ben also traverse the waters of a new relationship. Even though Ben is submissive, he’s a very strong character who brings out the softer side of Lucien.

Good story. Loved the characters. Look forward to reading more by Ms. Somerton.

Rated 3 ½ Delightful Divas by Samhain Queene!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



March 13th, 2013

Screwing the System by Josephine Myles

Screwing the System by Josephine Myles
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: GLBT, BDSM, M/M, Contemporary, Erotic Romance
Length: 213 pages

Summary:

He’s nobody’s bitch. Until he gets a ride on the bitch seat.

Forced to apply for a job he doesn’t want, Cosmo Rawlins has only one aim in mind: fail the interview and get back to making music. Except his attempt to shock the older, sharp-suited Alasdair Grant doesn’t have the desired effect.

Instead of getting thrown out of the office by flaunting an interest in BDSM, Cosmo finds himself on his knees, apologizing to the sexy, good-looking Top.

Alasdair has more important things on his mind than training a novice sub, especially a rebellious bad boy like Cosmo. But there’s something beneath the younger man’s defiant attitude that’s too intriguing to ignore.

As Alasdair takes Cosmo in hand—and for a wild ride on his Harley—he becomes obsessed with bending the young rocker to his will, both in and out of bed. Until he goes one demand too far, and Cosmo is gone in a cloud of dust. Forcing Alasdair to admit that earning Cosmo’s loyalty—and love—will involve the toughest challenge he’s ever faced.

Warning: This title contains an overbearing Top with a less-than-glamorous job, a rebellious brat who refuses to call him sir, and a total lack of high-end BDSM clubs or playrooms. Expect floggings over the kitchen table instead.

Samhain Queene’s Review:

Flawed characters with a bit of BDSM thrown in for good measure is what you’ll get with Screwing the System by Josephine Myles.

Alasdair and Cosmo may on the outside look like total opposites, but once you get to know them, and them know each other, you discover they have a lot in common. Cosmo goes on an interview with the intention to fail. He never imagines what happens next with Alasdair.

Alasdair has seen the good and bad of life, and has had his heart broken by life’s choices. Then he meets Cosmo. In Cosmo, Alasdair finds what and who he needs.

There are a few moments that tear at your heart strings, but they are also complimented by humorous moments. I thoroughly enjoyed Alasdair and Cosmo. Ms. Myles has a good story and wonderful characters in Screwing the System.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Samhain Queene!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



November 6th, 2012

The Hot Floor by Josephine Myles

The Hot Floor by Josephine Myles
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: GLBT, M/M, Erotic Romance, Menage
Length: Novel

Summary:

Two plus one equals scorching hot fun.

Dumped by his boyfriend and reduced to living in a grotty bedsit, Josh Carpenter has gotten used to expecting the worst. Now he lives only for his job as a glassblower…and occasional glimpses of his sexy downstairs neighbors, Rai Nakamura and Evan Truman.

Every time he overhears the diminutive academic and the hunky plumber having loud and obviously kinky sex, Josh is overwhelmed with lust…and a longing for a fraction of what they have.

To his amazement, Rai and Evan find his embarrassing tendency to blush utterly charming, and the three men grow closer over the course of the long, hot summer. Despite Rai’s charming flirtation and Evan’s smoldering gaze, Josh is determined never to break his new friends’ loving bonds.

On the night a naked Josh falls—quite literally—into the middle of one of Rai and Evan’s marathon sex sessions, the force of their mutual attraction takes control. But just as Josh dares to hope, he senses a change. Leaving him to wonder if the winds of love are about to blow his way at last…or if history is about to repeat itself.

Warning: Contains one well-endowed stud with a sexy accent, one improbably toppy bottom boy with an unfortunate owl obsession, and one blushing naïf who can’t believe his luck. Also, the occasional indulgence in mathematical spanking and some shameless armpit sex.

Evelise’s Review:

Josephine Myles delivers a wonderfully, sensual tale in her novel The Hot Floor. Rai and Evan are long-time lovers who have been known to take a third to their bed; with ground rules. Enter Josh, another tenant at Walcot Terrace and secretly in love with Rai and Evan from afar. Josh admires the two men from a distance and even though the two men flirt with him, he is determined not to come between them. Rai and Evan take a shine to Josh and invite him into their bed and lives and end up breaking all “the rules”.

The Hot Floor lives up to the words in the title leaving the reader panting breathlessly and wanting more. The story line itself is sweet yet not sappy, making all the characters believable and likable. What I love most about Ms. Myle’s style of writing is her charismatic, colorful characters with a language all unto themselves. The men of her stories are not the typical, everyday Joe and each character brings something unique to the table. In The Hot Floor, there is a bossy bottom, the burly plumber and the shy glass blower; all adding a unique perspective to a brilliant ménage.

She delves into very real relationship issues; jealousy, neurosis, insecurities; all the trappings that occur as you are building a meaningful bond. Each man also gives as much as he takes. Rai, Evan and Josh all strive to make the relationship work in a world where a homosexual couple may not be mainstream, yet alone a ménage. The secondary characters add pizazz to the story as well. Denise and Dylan are wonderful friends, who generate laughs and family, as is Stella, the elderly neighbor.

Ms. Myles truly has a grasp on writing a ménage story where all the partners are equals and the HEA is truly believable. She had me laughing at the antics, wanting to hug anyone of the men at any given time, and sweating at the sex scenes. A definite winner in this reviewer’s opinion.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Evelise!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



November 1st, 2012

Vance’s Rules by Anne Rainey

Vance’s Rules by Anne Rainey
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Erotic, Contemporary Romance
Length: 118 pages

Summary:

Blackwater, Book 2

Looking at Vance Jennings now, no one would guess that the tough-as-nails building contractor once suffered a broken heart. Twelve years has blunted the pain of the breakup with his high school sweetheart, but not the memory. Until she shows up on his doorstep asking for a second chance.

One look at the sexy redhead, and Vance adds a foot or two to his rock-solid emotional barriers. No way is he letting her back into his life. But he’ll be happy to let her close enough to sample her delectable body.

Shayla Riggs is no longer the vulnerable teenager who was forced to give up her first and only love. She’s older, wiser, and determined to make things right. Except the changes in Vance throw her for a loop. He’s definitely not the sweet boy she remembers. In fact, the grown-up version lights her up hotter than a firecracker.

It takes only a kiss, a caress, to bring back the explosive passion they once shared. But if Shayla can’t find a way to break through the bitter walls around his heart, it just might destroy them both. Again.

Warning: This story contains a stubborn woman intent on seduction and an alpha male with some naughty ideas of payback. Let the fireworks begin!

Shelly’s Review:

Shayla left Vance years ago, but he never knew why. Now Shayla is back in town to stay and she wants to make things right with Vance. She can only hope he’ll find it in his heart to forgive her. Vance had never thought he was good enough for Shayla and in his mind, she only proved it when she left him. Now she’s back and he doesn’t want to care, but he realizes he still loves her. Should he give Shayla a chance to redeem herself or will she only hurt him again?

Vance’s Rules is a sexy read that will heat you up on a chilly afternoon. The hero and heroine easily reestablish their past relationship after they determine the mistakes of the past shouldn’t stand in the way of their future. The passion heats up quickly and the love reemerges once they get past the anger and resentment. Vance’s Rules is a quick read, but there is a depth to it that makes the story feel complete. It’s easy to feel the emotion of the characters and you almost feel like you’re there. Oh, and speaking of feeling like you’re there…it’s the same with the smoking hot sex (sssss!). What an absolutely perfect read to spice up a boring afternoon!

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Shelly!



 



September 6th, 2012

Checking It Twice by Jodi Redford

Checking It Twice by Jodi Redford
Publisher: Samhain publishing
Genre:  Contemporary, Erotic Romance,  Menage a Trois
Length: 188 pages

Summary:

The only item on Jana Colton’s Christmas list this year is Kevin Monahan. Preferably naked in her bed. The delicious, hunky chef has been resisting her forever, but she’s pulling out all the sexy stops this holiday. Especially since his acceptance of an out-of-state job threatens to nix her quest to rock his boxers off.

Jana has always been Kevin’s personal Kryptonite, but giving in to her isn’t an option. Relationships are a four-letter word in his book. He cares far too much for Jana to let his emotional baggage ultimately break her heart.

With the arrival of his best friend, Nick Pappas, the balance of temptation shifts. From their past history of sharing women, Nick knows every dirty trick it takes to lead Kevin astray, and he’s not afraid to use them. Particularly since Nick’s convinced that Jana is exactly what Kevin needs to be happy and whole.

Their game of seduction quickly snowballs into something that feels an awful lot like love—in triplicate. But with Kevin dead set on leaving Michigan, there’s a real possibility it could be a blue Christmas for them all.

Warning: This book contains an extremely tormented voyeur, a very naughty and not so saintly Nick, a liberal application of candy cane-flavored body paint, a buzzing butterfly, and enough raunchy fun on a sex swing to melt a snowman…or two.

Shelly’s Review:

Jana has tried for years to seduce her best friend, Kevin, but he won’t give in and give her the satisfaction she’s craving. Then Kevin’s estranged friend, Nick, shows up to try and make amends. Nick knows Kevin’s sexual past and he tries to help Jana break through Kevin’s insecurities and commit to a relationship. They’ve previously shared women, but can they share this one woman, Jana, that they’ve both come to love?

Oh, wow! I don’t think I’ve read a hotter, more intensely erotic book in my life. Checking It Twice is full of explosive menage sex from start to finish, written with amazing ingenuity. This is not a raunchy book, but it’s jam-packed with emotional, sensual, explicitly erotic sex that will keep you hot-and-bothered from page one. I wanted to read it slowly to soak up the full impact, but I just couldn’t do it. The pages flew by at an alarming rate and I was already wanting to read it again, before I actually even finished it.

In my opinion, this is an excellent erotic romance and Ms. Redford writes with experience, practice and creativity. Checking It Twice is awesome and I highly recommend it!

Rated 5 Delightful Divas and a Recommended Read by Shelly!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



March 10th, 2012

Hidden Fire by Jess Dee

Hidden Fire by Jess Dee
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Red Hot
Length: 70 pages

Summary:

Well, this is an unexpected twist. Jenna Brooks is all set to spend the weekend wallowing in misery, repairing the cracks in the façade she’s maintained for twelve years. Instead she’s…tied to a chair. Kidnapped by her own twin brother and her so-called best friend.

It’s for her own good, they say. She’ll thank them later, they say. But when they reveal her partner in captivity, she shores up her emotional barriers. It’s Garreth Halt. The one man for whom she let her guard down. What a fool she was.

For one electrifying moment, Garreth had Jenna naked in his arms, on the edge of losing her legendary control. Could have kept her there forever, too, if he hadn’t felt honor-bound to tell her the truth. Before she’d heard the whole truth, though, she’d retreated behind the fortress around her heart.

Now they’re knee to knee, with no escape. While he’s irritated he let his alleged best friend get the drop on him, a small part of him is thrilled. With one final chance to show her his love is real, Garreth methodically, wickedly, sets out to dismantle her defenses.

One dirty word at a time.

Warning: Garreth may have charmed you in Winter Fire, but this time around, his blatantly sexy demands, even sexier actions and heartwarming love for his heroine are gonna make you fall head over heels.

Deb’s Review:

Jess Dee is sure to stir up the flames with her book, Hidden Fire, the second in this series.  Garreth and Jenna share a passion for each other, but a tragedy in Jenna’s past and the promise made between her and her twin keeps her from the man she loves.

How can anyone not love Jenna, who is soft and so heartbroken. However, she proved that she has strength in her core, as the story progressed and I loved that! Garreth is a “sweet, delicious, dark “concoction that, I for one crave. Their chemistry and passion fly off the pages. There is a history between these two you get from the first book, “Winter Fire” that makes you instantly want to know.

The second level characters are so much fun. I loved revisiting Jackson and Rachel and they play an important role in helping Garreth and Jenna find their way to one another where they belong. All of the characters are well-developed and have depth, which makes this enticing story even more enjoyable.

Ms. Dee’s fearless approach to tender subjects is what makes her a “must have” author. She pulls out the knowledge and helps her readers understand.

Lord Ms. Dee, the chair scenes made me wither in my seat…”Hot!” If you’re looking for sensual delights like no other, then pick-up Hidden Fire by Jess Dee. Garreth and Jenna promise to show you a great time. Just bring a towel because things could get a little wet.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



November 17th, 2011

Come Unto These Yellow Sands by Josh Lanyon

Come Unto These Yellow Sands by Josh Lanyon
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: GLBT, M/M, Romance Suspense
Length: 145 pages

Summary:

Sometimes the adventure chooses you.

Lover of fine poetry and lousy choose-your-own-adventure novels, Professor Sebastian Swift was once the bad-boy darling of the literati. The only lines he does these days are Browning, Frost and Cummings. Even his relationship with the hot, handsome Wolfe Neck Police Chief Max Prescott is healthy.

When one of his most talented students comes to him bruised and begging for help, Swift hands over the keys to his Orson Island cabin—only to find out that the boy’s father is dead and the police are suspicious. In an instant, the stable life Swift has built for himself hangs on finding the boy and convincing him to give himself up before Max figures out Swift’s involvement in the case.

Max enjoys splitting an infinitive or two with his favorite nutty professor, but he’s not much for sonnets or Shakespeare. He likes being lied to even less. Yet his instincts—and his heart—tell him his lover is being played. Max can forgive lies and deception, but a dangerous enemy may not stop until Swift is heading up his own dead poet’s society.

Product Warnings: The Surgeon General has determined that Josh Lanyon’s smart, sexy, sophisticated stories may prove hazardous to your heart.

Lasha’s Review:

Some people have compared Come Unto These Yellow Sands to the Adrien English Mysteries, but since I have not read those, I have no idea if this is true or not, so for me this Josh Lanyon will stand on its own as a truly wonderful and unique read.

Professor Sebastian Swift is a former drug addict who happens to be an award-winning poet. But ever since his addiction caused his career to crash and burn, along with most of the relationships in his life, he’s settled down in an out-of-the-way town to teach at the local college. He has a friends with benefits kind-of relationship with the town’s police chief, Max Prescott and life is fairly pedestrian. Then one of his most promising students disappears after his father is murdered and all hell breaks loose. Sebastian becomes the number one suspect, Max breaks up with him and it looks like someone is trying to kill him. Suddenly life is not so boring after all.

What I loved about Come Unto These Yellow Sands was the utterly flawed way Mr. Lanyon wrote Sebastian. This ‘hero’ is a (sometimes) liar, petty, insecure and on the edge of using drugs again, but deep down is just trying to survive with what life throws at him. Sebastian is far from perfect and that’s what makes him so compelling.

Combine this tragic main character with a twisty whodunit and you have the ideal makings for a mystery novel with romantic influences. Highly recommended.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas by Lasha!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



November 8th, 2011

Talon and the Falconer by Gale Stanley

Talon and the Falconer by Gale Stanley
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Genre: GLBT, M/M, Paranormal, Erotic Romance
Length: 132 pages

Summary:

Talon, a vampire-hawk is shot down over Lycan territory. Ben, a Lycan falconer, rescues him and helps him escape. When Ben is injured, Talon returns the favor. Neither man realizes they’ve forged a connection that can never be broken, and their only hope for survival is as mates.

Samhain Queene’s Review:

The Symbiotic Mates series just continues to become more interesting and complex as it goes along. Gale Stanley has created an amazing world and beautifully crafted characters. Talon and the Falconer adds another level to the increasing tensions building in the Lycan and Vampire communities.

When Talon and Ben meet, Ben is taken with the beautiful vampire-hawk. Talon doesn’t want to trust Ben but seeing Ben’s interaction with his falcon, Jess, he slowly begins to. Finding out their bonded through the sharing of blood leads them both on a path neither expected.

I can’t wait to see how this series continues. Every story builds upon the one before it. More layers and intricacies abound as Abbi’s research continues and we learn more about the machinations of the Alpha and the Master. Kudos to Ms. Stanley for creating this world that draws you in and leaves you wanting more.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Samhain Queene!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



September 20th, 2011

Barging In by Josephine Myles

Barging In by Josephine Myles
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance, GLBT, M/M
Length: 219 pages

Summary:

When the boat’s a rockin’, don’t come knockin’!

Out-and-proud travel writer Dan Taylor can’t steer a boat to save his life, but that doesn’t stop him from accepting an assignment to write up a narrowboat holiday. Instead of a change of pace from city life, though, the canal seems dull as ditchwater. Until he crashes into the boat of a half-naked, tattooed, pierced man whose rugged, penniless appearance is at odds with a posh accent.

Still smarting from past betrayal, Robin Hamilton’s “closet” is his narrowboat, his refuge from outrageous, provocative men like Dan. Yet he can’t seem to stop himself from rescuing the hopelessly out-of-place city boy from one scrape after another. Until he finds himself giving in to reluctant attraction, even considering a brief, harmless fling.

After all, in less than a week, Dan’s going back to his London diet of casual hook-ups and friends with benefits.

Determined not to fall in love, both men dive into one week of indulgence…only to find themselves drawn deep into an undertow of escalating intimacy and emotional intensity. Troubled waters neither of them expected…or wanted.

Product Warnings: Contains one lovable tart, one posh boy gone feral, rough sex, alfresco sex, vile strawberry-flavoured condoms, intimate body piercings, red thermal long-johns, erotic woodchopping, an errant cat, a few colourful characters you wouldn’t touch with a bargepole, and plenty of messing about on the river.

Cryselle’s Review:

Who knew there was an entire subculture living a gypsy life aboard long, thin boats on the canals of England? Or that some of them were so darn sexy? Josephine Myles treats us to a peek through Robin Hamilton’s reluctant romance with Dan Taylor, travel writer and terrible noob long-boater in Barging In.

The erotic wood-chopping we are warned of brings Robin and Dan together – literally, with a collision and snarling. From this inauspicious beginning wonderful things bloom. Dan’s out, footloose, and interested, but Robin’s slower to open up; his character is revealed in beautifully done details of his life, his boat, his tattoos, and eventually, his heart.

The small every day things like getting from one end of the boat to the other become real terrors for a novice who’s not comfortable with water; Robin drops his gruffness in small chunks, opening up to Dan, teaching him practical things and what it’s like to be truly cared for. Each man has his own pain, revealed in his own time. Flaws and fears surface slowly, one step at a time, and we can see each man getting help from the other, all while watching the calendar tick away the brief time that was all they expected to have. Robin and Dan both have tiny thoughts of a future, followed by learning the art of compromise to have anything at all. Spattered with details of life on the canals and rivers, their story swings from hope to despair and back, several times. There’s a lot of sex in this book, but it does drive the plot.

The pacing lurches a bit – the first two thirds of the book cover one short, intense week, but the next third encompasses a month that both seems too long and in a few respects like not enough; the time doesn’t seem to match the calendar or pace of certain real world transactions, but that may also reflect my imperfect understanding of how both winter and money are managed in England. An occasion of over-telegraphing of what is to come then fails to follow through, hiding an unexpected personality transplant in a pivotal secondary character. That character was a great deal more likeable afterward.

But I love Dan, whose free spirit begins to liberate Robin from the shell he’s built, and Robin, who forces Dan to think, and I want them to be happy together. If they don’t like the place they’re in, they don’t have to wait two weeks for British Waterways to roust them, they’ll lead each other to a better space.

Rated 4 Delightful Divas by Cryselle!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



July 11th, 2011

Bad Company by K.A. Mitchell

Bad Company by K.A. Mitchell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Comedy, M/M, GLBT
Length: 154 pages

Summary:

Some things are sweeter than revenge.

“I need a boyfriend.”

Hearing those words from the mouth of his very straight ex-friend is enough to make columnist and editor Nate Gray choke on his Corona. It’s been thirteen years since Kellan Brooks’s father crushed Nate’s family on his climb to wealth and power. Even longer since he entrusted Kellan with the confession that he might be gay—only to have his best friend out and humiliate him to their entire high school. The last thing Nate expects is Kellan begging for his help.

Breaking off his engagement to a senator’s daughter was the last straw for Kellan’s CEO father. Frustrated at being cut off, his father’s stinging words—that he wishes Kellan had never been born—still ringing in his ears, Kellan turns to Nate. In a move worthy of a corporate raider, Kellan plans the ultimate revenge. Come out as the boyfriend of the man his homophobic father betrayed.

Convincing Nate to play along isn’t easy. It’s even harder to figure out why the lie feels so close to the truth.

Product Warnings: Contains old friends, old enemies, a dramatic cat rescue, soft drink references and a lot of teasing before the steamy sex. Readers are cautioned against drinking any beverage while reading to avoid accidental snorting or spraying of said beverages.

Lasha’s Review:

K.A. Mitchell’s

Bad Company is a delightful if somewhat unrealistic tale of Kellan Brooks’ plan to get revenge on his father for cutting him off after his latest engagement crashes and burns. In order to do that he goes to former childhood friend Nate Gray and ask him to be his pretend boyfriend to tick his father off completely. Kellan isn’t gay, but Nate is. The drama unfolds after this event as Nate and Kellan have to pretend to be madly in love, which isn’t hard for Nate because he’s secretly had a crush on his former best friend forever; but the question is, after all is said and done, will Kellan still want Nate after the charade is over?

Bad Company is one of those novels you have to suspend disbelief in the plot and just go with the flow because once you do you’ll fall madly in love with the two main protagonists. Nate and Kellan are adorable together, whether they are fighting or making love, they leap off the page with their passion for each other. Plus the banter between these two characters is some of the cleverest I have read in a long time. It rivals Dave and Maddie from Moonlighting – that is a high compliment from me since I loved that show! But most of all I love Kellan’s journey from spoiled rich brat to a more responsible person who will fight to keep Nate.

In the past I have enjoyed Ms. Mitchell’s books, but to me with Bad Company she has surpassed her previous novels and created two characters who are dynamic, complicated and flawed, yet redeemable. A true talent is exposed in this work. Hopefully she will continue in this universe…and a big shout-out to her for using my hometown of Baltimore as the back-drop for this story.

Rated 4 ½ Delightful Divas by Lasha!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer



 



May 31st, 2011

The Turning Kiss by Eden Bradley

The Turning Kiss by Eden Bradley
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Genre: Erotic, BDSM
Length: 81 pages

Summary:

They have nothing to lose…except the one gift they never expected to find.

Midnight Playground, Book 3

Ilana escaped a life of sex slavery, using her extraordinary beauty to survive among the few remaining wealthy humans in London. But she has higher aspirations. For two years she has haunted the BDSM dungeons of the Midnight Playground, hungering for The Turning Kiss—that deep drink that will make her one of them. An immortal vampire.

Turned out onto the streets of Edinburgh as a child, Calam’s tortured path led him to a job at the club, where he also engages in exotic and dangerous sex play with its clientele. Craving, like Ilana, the eternal escape of the Turning Kiss.

Ilana is undeniably drawn to the beautiful Scotsman, but she has no time to waste; the club takes no one over thirty. When a sinfully compelling vampire pair brings them together for an unusual foursome, she and Calam are shocked to discover it isn’t the vampires they crave, it’s the tenderness and emotion they feel for each other.

After years of seeking to feel something, anything, other than the pain of the past, the ultimate gift is within Ilana’s reach. Yet the cost—leaving her heart behind with a mortal—could be more than she can bear.

Product Warnings: Three hot bisexual vampires and two mere mortals getting down and dirty at the vampire sex club. Beware of spankings, bondage, several kinds of whips, everything anal and an orgy or two…or is it three…?

Deb’s Review:

The Turning Kiss by Eden Bradley was unpredictable in the best ways any great book should be. There was a twist to this book, which shocked me in a good way though, especially given that there was so much passion and I “heart” you moments.

I could not contain myself. Calam and Ilana’s story is unusual but fit into the series nicely. When I think of Calam, I view him as a sweet, lost boy that wants to be loved. He thinks he is worth so little, but in fact he is a diamond in the ruff. Will being a member of the Midnight Playground truly make him feel alive?

My first impression of Illana was that she’s a dominatrix, but I will let you discover where that leads. *g*
She has her own demons to battle and her own needs to feed.

I will say that I am amazed you can almost read these books as a standalone even though it is part of a series. I have to know will Ever get a story? He is so lonely and needs to find some peace.

I have to say it again, if you want a series that touches you in the most pleasurable ways, add Eden Bradley’s Midnight Playground Series to your Vampire Library.

Rated 5 Delightful Divas and a Recommended Read by Deb!

Have Your Book Reviewed

Become A Reviewer

Related Posts with Thumbnails